Student Life Cycle Panel (SLC)

Start of the project: 01-Jan-2021

The Student Life Cycle Panel (SLC) accompanies school leavers with a higher education entrance certificate and university graduates on their way into the labour market in order to draw a comprehensive picture of educational decisions and courses, as well as labour market transitions, trajectories and educational returns.

The data obtained by the SLC not only make a contribution to education monitoring but also open up new analytical potential for education and labour market research. For example, besides students and university graduates persons without an academic degree will also be available as a comparison group and international and non-traditional students will be considered as further participant groups of higher education.

The SLC will also be internationally compatible. The SLC graduate sample is to play a central role in a planned European comparative graduate study, thereby strengthening the perception of German higher education and science research in the (international) scientific community.

Every four years, a new cycle consisting of a cohort of school leavers with a higher education entrance certificate and a cohort of university graduates is started. The participants of the study are surveyed at least every two years. The first cycle consists of school leavers of the 2021/2022 graduation year together with the university graduates of the 2025 examination year. The SLC is thus also continuing the well-known and tried-and-tested surveys of the “Panel Study of School Leavers with a Higher Education Entrance Qualification” and the “Graduate Panel” under a new roof.

Further information on the SLC in German language can be found here.

Lead Researcher

Johann Carstensen
Dr. Johann Carstensen Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-914
Heike Spangenberg
Dr. Heike Spangenberg Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-151

Office

Verena Jahn
Verena Jahn +49 511 450670-143
Heike Naumann
Heike Naumann +49 511 450670-120

Researchers

Thorsten Euler Alice Fölker Dennis Föste-Eggers Barbara Franke Regina Jusri Sebastian Lang Hanna Mentges David Ohlendorf Heiko Quast Laura Isabel Schoger

Funded by

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Student Life Cycle Panel (SLC)

Projektbeginn: 01.01.2021

Das Student Life Cycle Panel (SLC) begleitet Studienberechtigte und Hochschulabsolvent*innen auf ihren Wegen bis in den Arbeitsmarkt, um ein möglichst umfassendes Bild zu Bildungsentscheidungen und -verläufen sowie Erwerbseinstiegen, Erwerbsverläufen und Bildungsrenditen zu zeichnen.

Die SLC-Daten ermöglichen nicht nur einen Beitrag zum Bildungsmonitoring sondern erschließen auch neue Analysepotenziale für die Bildungs- und Arbeitsmarktforschung. So werden unter anderem auch Personen ohne akademischen Abschluss als Vergleichsgruppe zur Verfügung stehen und internationale sowie nicht-traditionelle Studierende als weitere Teilgruppen der Hochschulbildung berücksichtigt.

Das SLC wird darüber hinaus international anschlussfähig sein. Für eine geplante europäische vergleichende Graduiertenstudie soll die Absolventenstichprobe des SLC eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Dies soll die Wahrnehmung der deutschen Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung in der (internationalen) scientific community stärken.

Alle vier Jahre wird ein neuer Cycle, bestehend aus einer Kohorte von Studienberechtigten und einer Kohorte von Hochschulabsolvent*innen, gestartet, die in mindestens zweijährigem Rhythmus befragt werden. Den Anfang machen die Studienberechtigten des Schulabschlussjahrgangs 2021/2022 gemeinsam mit den Hochschulabsolvent*innen des Prüfungsjahres 2025. Damit führt das SLC auch die bekannten und bewährten Erhebungen „Studienberechtigtenpanel“ und „Absolventenpanel“ unter einem neuen Dach fort.

Weitere Informationen zum SLC finden sich hier.

Projektleitung

Johann Carstensen
Dr. Johann Carstensen Projektleitung 0511 450670-914
Heike Spangenberg
Dr. Heike Spangenberg Projektleitung 0511 450670-151

Projektassistenz

Verena Jahn
Verena Jahn 0511 450670-143
Heike Naumann
Heike Naumann 0511 450670-120

Projektmitarbeit

Thorsten Euler Alice Fölker Dennis Föste-Eggers Barbara Franke Regina Jusri Sebastian Lang Hanna Mentges David Ohlendorf Heiko Quast Laura Isabel Schoger

Gefördert von

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung