Print Logo

Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Search in: Website  Publications

DZHW  >  Research  >  Educational Careers and Graduate Employment

Research – Educational Careers and Graduate Employment

Research – Educational Careers and Graduate Employment



Seitennavigation

In the Educational Careers and Graduate Employment research area, we examine educational processes in the higher education system, the transition to employment, and professional pathways. Topics include starting and continuing academic studies, student drop-out, changing subjects or moving to a different higher education institution, successful completion of degree programmes, and the transition to employment or an academic career. The overall objective is both to describe and also to analyse the conditions that ensure successful educational and vocational pathways and to examine the benefits of tertiary education for individuals and society as a whole.

This research area collects extensive data on individuals with a higher education admission qualification, students, graduates and doctorate holders. The studies cover the various phases of higher academic studies or academic careers and frequently take the form of longitudinal studies. In addition to scientific analysis of the processes and transitions they examine, they contribute to educational monitoring. The DZHW's survey series generate an essential database for empirical research on higher education and are made available for scientific analyses by the institute's own research data centre.

This research area covers all levels of higher education and degree programmes, ranging from undergraduate and postgraduate studies to doctoral programmes and further academic qualifications. The educational processes and their outcomes, including professional pathways and employment of the highly qualified, are examined both in regard to their social, institutional and societal conditionality and also with respect to the role of individual factors.

While the German higher education system is the main focus of the research area's work, an important and growing factor is the integration of our research projects in international comparative research. Within the field of student research this integration has already been accomplished, while a European survey is currently being developed within the graduate research field.

The research area conducts its research on educational careers, the transition to employment, and vocational pathways within the following research units:

  • Study Decision and Educational Pathways
  • Professional and Academic Careers

If you have any further questions concerning the research area "Educational Careers and Graduate Employment" please contact the heads' assistant Ms Gesche Landers.

tel: +49 511 450670-138
fax: +49 511 450670-960

http://www.dzhw.eu/en/abteilungen/bildung/index_html
© Copyright 2017 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, fon: +49 511 450670-532, fax: +49 511 450670-960, E-Mail:

Print Logo

DZHW  >  Forschung  >  Bildungsverläufe und Beschäftigung

Forschung – Bildungsverläufe und Beschäftigung

Forschung – Bildungsverläufe und Beschäftigung



Seitennavigation

In der Abteilung "Bildungsverläufe und Beschäftigung" werden Studien zu Bildungsprozessen im Hochschulsystem, zu Übergängen in die Beschäftigung und zum Berufsverlauf durchgeführt. Untersucht werden u. a. Faktoren, die die Aufnahme eines Studiums, den Verbleib in der Hochschule, den Studienabbruch, Fach- und Hochschulwechsel, erfolgreiche Abschlüsse sowie die Übergänge in die Beschäftigung und in eine wissenschaftliche Karriere erklären. Ziel ist nicht nur die Deskription, sondern vor allem die Analyse der Bedingungen von Bildungs- und Karriereverläufen sowie der Erträge tertiärer Bildung für Individuen und Gesellschaft.

Die in der Abteilung durchgeführten großen Primärdatenerhebungen bei Studienberechtigten, Studierenden, Absolvent(inn)en und Promovierten orientieren sich an den verschiedenen Phasen des Studiums bzw. der wissenschaftlichen Karriere und sind vielfach als Längsschnittstudien angelegt. Über die wissenschaftliche Analyse der untersuchten Prozesse und Übergänge hinaus tragen sie zum Bildungsmonitoring bei. Die Untersuchungsreihen des DZHW sind eine zentrale Datenbasis der empirischen Hochschulforschung und werden vom institutseigenen Forschungsdatenzentrum für wissenschaftliche Analysen zur Verfügung gestellt.

Zum Forschungsfeld der Abteilung 1 gehören alle hochschulischen Bildungsstufen bzw. -programme vom grundständigen Studium über das weiterführende Studium bis zur Promotion und wissenschaftlichen Weiterqualifizierung. Die Bildungsprozesse und -ergebnisse, die sich auch auf Berufsverlauf und Beschäftigung von Hochqualifizierten erstrecken, werden sowohl hinsichtlich ihrer sozialen, institutionellen und gesellschaftlichen Bedingtheit als auch in Bezug auf die Rolle individueller Faktoren thematisiert.

Für die Arbeit der Abteilung steht das Hochschulsystem in Deutschland im Mittelpunkt, ein wichtiger Entwicklungsbereich ist jedoch auch die Einbindung der Forschungsvorhaben in die international vergleichende Forschung. In der Studierendenforschung konnte dies bereits realisiert werden, in der Absolventenforschung wird derzeit ein europäischer Survey entwickelt.

Die Abteilung führt ihre Forschungen zu Bildungsverläufen, zu Übergängen in die Beschäftigung und zu Berufsverläufen in den folgenden Arbeitsbereichen durch:

  • Studienentscheidung und Studienverläufe
  • Berufliche und wissenschaftliche Karrieren

Allgemeine Anfragen zu den Themen der Abteilung "Bildungsverläufe und Beschäftigung" richten Sie bitte an die Assistentin der Abteilungsleitung Gesche Landers.

Tel.: 0511 450670-138
Fax: 0511 450670-960

http://www.dzhw.eu/abteilungen/bildung/index_html
© Copyright 2017 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, Tel.: 0511 450670-532, Fax: 0511 450670-960, E-Mail: