Roberto Cruz Romero

Roberto Cruz Romero

Research Area Research System and Science Dynamics
Researcher
  • +49 30 2064177-22
  • +49 30 2064177-99

Roberto Cruz Romero studied Arts and Graphic Design at the Universidad de Costa Rica, where he obtained his BA and Licentiate’s degreees (2007 – 2012). From 2011 to 2014 he completed his BA in Political Science at the same university. He worked as a research assistant and, later, as a research associate at the policy think tank PROSIC (Knowledge and Information Society Programme), where he also adviced the Knowledge Sharing Programme (KSP) oft he Korean Development Institute (KDI) on science and technology human resources. Roberto moved to Germany in 2018 to obtain his MA degree from the Leuphana Universität Lüneburg (2018 – 2020), which he focused on the empirical relation of transparency and economic performance. As of 2020 he is a doctoral candidate at the Universität Leipzig, further researching the institutional determinants of transparency in a comparative perspective. Since 2022 he joined the DZHW as a research associate in the indi:oa project, where he collaborates with the empirical evaluation of open access bibliometric data.

Read more Read less
Projects

List of projects

Unfortunately, there is no result available for this search combination
Responsible valuation and quality assurance of open access publications via bibliometric indicators (INDIOA)
Publications

List of publications

Unfortunately, there is no result available for this search combination

Digital governance: A proposal analysis for Costa Rica [Gobernanza digital en Costa Rica: un análisis de propuestas].

Cruz Romero, R. (2017).
Digital governance: A proposal analysis for Costa Rica [Gobernanza digital en Costa Rica: un análisis de propuestas]. e-Ciencias de la Informacion, 8(1), 1-18.
Abstract

This article aims to provide a comprehensive look at recent proposals of digital governance in Costa Rica, from its institutional design, specifically regarding the ruling entity of the sector. This will be achieved through a documentary review, as well as following a process-tracing method. Then, the article will focus on presenting the national experience with respect of that of the international benchmarks on the subject. Conclusively, it will provide a series of recommendations from the best practices observed in successful institutions in the field of digital Government, applicable to the Costa Rican case given its low success level regarding the country’s institutionalization of a Digital Government.

Internet politics Towards a social networking typology - Costa Rican municipal elections analysis.

Cruz Romero, R. (2017).
Internet politics Towards a social networking typology - Costa Rican municipal elections analysis. In IEEE (Hrsg.), Proceedings from International Conference on Information Society (I-Society 2016) (S. 149-154). Dublin, Ireland: IEEE.
Abstract

By weighing data extracted during the 2016 municipal election in Costa Rica from local-level political parties' Facebook pages the research elaborates an analysis based on the mobilization - normalization theses. From that perspective, the paper identifies the traits that characterize each party's communicational emphasis, specifically on whether such sites promote or limit deliberative behaviors amongst each page's subscriber/follower. This content taxonomy displays the kind of traits each content type signifies in terms of political (and digital) engagement. This typology presents three major categories: Informative parties, Self-promotional parties and Interactive-driven parties.

Politics 2.0 ICTs in Costa Rica's 2014 Presidential Campaign.

Cruz Romero, R. (2016).
Politics 2.0 ICTs in Costa Rica's 2014 Presidential Campaign. In IEEE (Hrsg.), Proceedings from 2015 International Conference on Information Society (i-Society) (S. 115-120). London, UK: IEEE.
Abstract

This study focuses on the contraposition of the mobilizing and normalizing theses, in its aim to demonstrate that social networks are a valid source for electoral political processes analysis. Therefore, the research focuses on the dynamics generated by the major presidential candidates in Costa Rica, during the 2013-2014 electoral campaign, in its official Facebook profiles, by assessing each candidate's communication, interaction and, finally, mobilization capabilities as from these virtual spaces. Such data are complemented and contrasted with national opinion polls results, as well as the final election results.

Roberto Cruz Romero

Roberto Cruz Romero

Abteilung Forschungssystem und Wissenschaftsdynamik
wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
  • 030 2064177-22
  • 030 2064177-99

Roberto Cruz Romero studierte Kunst und Grafikdesign an der Universidad de Costa Rica, wo er seinen Bachelor und sein Lizenziat erwarb (2007 - 2012). Von 2011 bis 2014 schloss er seinen BA in Politikwissenschaften an derselben Universität ab. Er arbeitete als wissenschaftlicher Assistent und später als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter bei dem policy Think Tank PROSIC (Wissens- und Informationsgesellschaftsprogramm), wo er auch das Knowledge Sharing Programme (KSP) des Korean Development Institute (KDI) zu wissenschaftlichen und technologischen Humanressourcen beriet. Roberto zog 2018 nach Deutschland, um seinen MA-Abschluss an der Leuphana Universität Lüneburg zu machen (2018 - 2020), wo er sich auf den empirischen Zusammenhang von Transparenz und wirtschaftlichen Leistungen konzentrierte. Seit 2020 ist er Doktorand an der Universität Leipzig, wo er die institutionellen Determinanten von Transparenz in einer vergleichenden Perspektive weiter erforscht. Seit 2022 ist er am DZHW als wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter im Projekt indi:oa tätig, wo er an der empirischen Auswertung von Open-Access-Bibliometriedaten mitarbeitet.

Mehr erfahren Weniger anzeigen
Projekte

Liste der Projekte

Leider konnte für diese Suchkombination kein Ergebnis gefunden werden
Verantwortungsbewusste Bewertung und Qualitätssicherung von Open-Access Publikationen mittels bibliometrischer Indikatoren (INDIOA)
Publikationen

Liste der Publikationen

Leider konnte für diese Suchkombination kein Ergebnis gefunden werden

Blurry Access: A Systematic Review of Transparency Literature.

Cruz Romero, R. (2022).
Blurry Access: A Systematic Review of Transparency Literature. Proceedings of the 26th International Conference on Science, Technology and Innovation Indicators (STI 2022).
Abstract

This review of the transparency literature has shown the evolution of the field through the prism of bibliographic and methodological data. In doing so, we have shed light into underlying disparities that go in line with arguments of structural problems and historical relations in socio-political contexts. We have highlighted the irony of the field in researching a topic that, due to determinants beyond the control of scholars (though OA policies may slowly generate a structural change), is in itself little transparent. The blurriness of the state of research in transparency and accountability helps us to address the overall debate of academic production in a critical manner, engaging with issues such as publishing and funding.

Digital governance: A proposal analysis for Costa Rica [Gobernanza digital en Costa Rica: un análisis de propuestas].

Cruz Romero, R. (2017).
Digital governance: A proposal analysis for Costa Rica [Gobernanza digital en Costa Rica: un análisis de propuestas]. e-Ciencias de la Informacion, 8(1), 1-18.
Abstract

Ziel des Artikels ist, einen Blick auf die jüngsten Vorschläge zur digitalen Governance in Costa Rica zu werfen, und zwar ausgehend von der institutionellen Ausgestaltung, insbesondere im Hinblick auf die regierende Institution des Sektors. Dies wird durch einen dokumentarischen Überblick sowie durch eine Prozessverfolgungsmethode erreicht. Anschließend wird der Artikel die nationalen Erfahrungen im Vergleich zu den internationalen Benchmarks zu diesem Thema darstellen. Abschließend werden eine Reihe von Empfehlungen aus den bewährten Praktiken erfolgreicher Institutionen im Bereich der digitalen Verwaltung gegeben, die angesichts des geringen Erfolgs bei der Institutionalisierung einer digitalen Verwaltung in Costa Rica andwendbar sind.

Internet politics Towards a social networking typology - Costa Rican municipal elections analysis.

Cruz Romero, R. (2017).
Internet politics Towards a social networking typology - Costa Rican municipal elections analysis. In IEEE (Hrsg.), Proceedings from International Conference on Information Society (I-Society 2016) (S. 149-154). Dublin, Ireland: IEEE.
Abstract

Durch die Auswertung von Daten, die während der Kommunalwahlen 2016 in Costa Rica von den Facebook-Seiten der politischen Parteien auf lokaler Ebene extrahiert wurden, erarbeitet die Studie eine Analyse, die auf den Thesen der Mobilisierung und Normalisierung basiert. Aus dieser Perspektive werden die Merkmale identifiziert, die den Kommunikationsschwerpunkt jeder Partei charakterisieren, insbesondere, ob solche Seiten deliberatives Verhalten unter den Abonnenten/Followern fördern oder einschränken. Diese Inhaltstaxonomie zeigt die Art der Merkmale, die jeder Inhaltstyp in Bezug auf politisches (und digitales) Engagement kennzeichnet. Diese Typologie enthält drei Hauptkategorien: Informative, Eigenwerbung und interaktive Parteien.

Politics 2.0 ICTs in Costa Rica's 2014 Presidential Campaign.

Cruz Romero, R. (2016).
Politics 2.0 ICTs in Costa Rica's 2014 Presidential Campaign. In IEEE (Hrsg.), Proceedings from 2015 International Conference on Information Society (i-Society) (S. 115-120). London, UK: IEEE.
Abstract

Diese Studie konzentriert sich auf den Gegensatz zwischen der Mobilisierungs- und der Normalisierungsthesen, um zu zeigen, dass soziale Netzwerke eine valide Quelle für die Analyse politischer Wahlprozesse sind. Daher konzentriert sich die Untersuchung auf die Dynamik, die von den wichtigsten Präsidentschaftskandidaten in Costa Rica während des Wahlkampfs 2013-2014 in ihren offiziellen Facebook-Profilen erzeugt wurde, indem die Kommunikations-, Interaktions- und schließlich Mobilisierungsfähigkeiten der einzelnen Kandidaten in diesen virtuellen Räumen bewertet werden. Diese Daten werden ergänzt und mit den Ergebnissen nationaler Meinungsumfragen sowie den endgültigen Wahlergebnissen kontrastiert.

Vorträge & Tagungen

Liste der Vorträge & Tagungen

Leider konnte für diese Suchkombination kein Ergebnis gefunden werden

Open Access Small Publishers - indi:oa Preliminary Presentation.

Cruz Romero, R. (2022, Oktober).
Open Access Small Publishers - indi:oa Preliminary Presentation. Vortrag im Rahmen des internen Kolloquiums DZHW, DZHW, Berlin.

Blurry Access: A Bibliographic Analysis of Transparency Literature.

Cruz Romero, R. (2022, September).
Blurry Access: A Bibliographic Analysis of Transparency Literature. Vortrag im Rahmen der Higher Education Research and Science Studies Summer School (HERSS) 2022, Dortmund.

Blurry Access: A Bibliographic Analysis of Transparency Literature.

Cruz Romero, R. (2022, September).
Blurry Access: A Bibliographic Analysis of Transparency Literature. Vortrag auf der Konferenz 26th International Conference on Science, Technology and Innovation Indicators (STI 2022), Granada, Spanien.

"What's in a number?" - Die Bedeutung bibliometrischer Indikatoren als Bewertungsgrundlage von OA-Publikationsangeboten.

Cruz Romero, R. (2022, August).
"What's in a number?" - Die Bedeutung bibliometrischer Indikatoren als Bewertungsgrundlage von OA-Publikationsangeboten. Vortrag im Rahmen der Open Access Talks, open-access.network.
Abstract

Angesichts der gegenwärtigen wissenschaftspolitischen Bedeutung von Open Access (OA) ist die Bewertung von Open-Access-Publikationsorganen in der wissenschaftlichen Praxis sehr relevant. Noch immer werden von Wissenschaftler*innen und Forschungseinrichtungen hierfür bibliometrischen Kennzahlen herangezogen. Vor allem die unsachgemäße Verwendung des Journal Impact Factors ist ein wesentliches Hemmnis bei der Entwicklung eines nachhaltigen und vielfältigen Open-Access-Ökosystems. Aus diesem Grund vermittelte der Vortrag Kontextinformationen, wie bibliometrische Indikatoren verantwortungsvoll herangezogen werden können, um bei der Bewertung eines Publikationsangebotes behilflich sein zu können.

One Idea and Many Approaches: A Systematic Review of Transparency Literature.

Cruz Romero, R. (2022, Juni).
One Idea and Many Approaches: A Systematic Review of Transparency Literature. Poster auf der Konferenz PolMeth 22, European Political Methodology Association, Hamburg.