Research cluster: Mobility and Migration-Specific Inequalities

Start of the project: 01-Feb-2021

At the beginning of 2021, the former research cluster "Mobility of the Highly Skilled" has positioned itself on a broader base content and personnel wise. The previous focus on the spatial mobility of students and graduates will be supplemented by research perspectives that take inequalities in access to various educational options as well as heterogeneous educational and labour market outcomes depending on migration background into account. In addition, the cluster is expanding its content to include the topics of virtual and cognitive mobility while it continues to pursue the goal of examining theoretical and methodological approaches to mobility and migration research and their possible applications in higher education and science research.

In the coming years, the role of migration-specific differences at the transition to higher education, Master programmes, the doctorate and the non-academic labour market will be examined.

  • Do people with a migration background have higher educational aspirations at these transitions? How is this explainable?
  • Do the returns of academic qualification vary depending on migration background? Can academic education balance (expected) discrimination in the labour market?
  • Are there any differences between international students (with and without refugee experience) and students with a migration background who obtained their higher education entrance qualification in Germany?

With regard to scientists, virtual and cognitive mobility are examined as new forms of non-spatial mobility. While virtual mobility refers to the transfer of information with the help of information and communication technologies, cognitive mobility can be understood as a change of subject or content-related scientific focus in the course of an academic career.

  • How can forms of virtual and cognitive mobility be empirically measured and analysed?
  • How do spatial, virtual and cognitive mobility of scientists relate to one another?

At the level of higher education institutions, the development of programmes targeted at international students and those with refugee experience raises the question of migration-specific challenges and the fit between needs and supply.

  • Which support services exist for students of varying migration backgrounds? How do students assess the fit between their needs and available support structures?
  • Which organisational characteristics influence the establishment of diversity offices?

In addition, research on networks of transnational student mobility is carried on. Thereby, special focus will be laid on the role political-institutional factors and gender-specific differences play for the observed patterns of transnational student mobility.

  • Do the degree of academic freedom and economic inequality, human and women's rights and the stability of political institutions impact on the attractiveness of a country as a study destination?
  • Does the gender of internationally mobile students influence the decision for a place of study?

The cluster bundles publication and lecture activities on the topics of mobility and migration-specific inequalities within the DZHW and additionally promotes cooperation with external researchers.

Head of Research cluster

Nicolai Netz
Dr. Nicolai Netz Head of Research cluster +49 511 450670-171
Eva Maria Vögtle
Dr. Eva Maria Vögtle Head of Research cluster +49 511 450670-359

Members

Jana Berg Fine Cordua Michael Grüttner Hanna Mentges Dr. Pedro Pineda Hendrik Schirmer Swetlana Sudheimer

Forschungscluster: Mobilität und migrationsspezifische Ungleichheiten

Projektbeginn: 01.02.2021

Mit Beginn des Jahres 2021 wurde das ehemalige Forschungscluster „Mobilität von Hochqualifizierten“ inhaltlich und personell breiter aufgestellt. Der bisherige Fokus auf die räumliche Mobilität von Studierenden und Hochschulabsolvent*innen wird künftig um Forschungsperspektiven ergänzt, die Ungleichheiten beim Zugang zu verschiedenen Bildungsoptionen sowie heterogene Bildungs- und Arbeitsmarkt-Outcomes in Abhängigkeit des Migrationshintergrunds in den Blick nehmen. Zudem erweitert das Cluster sich inhaltlich um die Themen der virtuellen und kognitiven Mobilität. Es verfolgt außerdem weiterhin das Ziel einer Auseinandersetzung mit theoretischen und methodischen Ansätzen der Mobilitäts- und Migrationsforschung und deren Anwendungsmöglichkeiten in der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung.

In den kommenden Jahren wird die Rolle von migrationsspezifischen Unterschieden an den Übergängen in Hochschulbildung, das Masterstudium, die Promotion sowie den nicht-akademischen Arbeitsmarkt in den Blick genommen.

  • Bestehen an diesen Übergängen höhere Bildungsaspirationen von Personen mit Migrationshintergrund? Wodurch lassen sich diese ggf. erklären?
  • Variieren die Erträge akademischer Qualifikationsphasen in Abhängigkeit des Migrationshintergrunds? Kann akademische Bildung (erwarteten) Diskriminierungen auf dem Arbeitsmarkt entgegenwirken?
  • Gibt es bezogen auf die genannten Fragestellungen Unterschiede zwischen internationalen Studierenden (mit und ohne Fluchterfahrung) und Studierenden mit Migrationshintergrund, die ihre Hochschulzugangsberechtigung in Deutschland erlangt haben?

Mit Blick auf Wissenschaftler*innen werden virtuelle und kognitive Mobilität als neue Formen nicht-räumlicher Mobilität untersucht. Während virtuelle Mobilität die Vermittlung von Informationen mithilfe von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien bezeichnet, kann kognitive Mobilität als Wechsel fachlicher bzw. inhaltlicher wissenschaftlicher Schwerpunkte im Verlauf der akademischen Karriere verstanden werden.

  • Wie lassen sich Formen virtueller und kognitiver Mobilität empirisch messen und analysieren?
  • Welche Zusammenhänge bestehen zwischen der räumlichen und der virtuellen sowie kognitiven Mobilität von Wissenschaftler*innen?

Auf hochschulischer Ebene lässt die Entwicklung spezifischer Angebote für Studierende mit Fluchterfahrung und für internationale Studierende die Frage nach migrationsspezifischen Herausforderungen und der Passung von Bedarfen und Angeboten aufkommen.

  • Welche Unterstützungsangebote existieren für Studierende mit unterschiedlichen Migrationshintergründen? Wie bewerten die Studierenden die Passung ihrer Bedarfe und verfügbarer Fördermöglichkeiten?
  • Welche nationalen und organisationalen Merkmale beeinflussen die Gründung von Diversity Offices?

Zudem wird weiterhin zu Netzwerken transnationaler studentischer Mobilität geforscht. Konkret werden politisch-institutionelle Faktoren einerseits und die Bedeutung geschlechtsspezifischer Unterschiede stärker thematisiert.

  • Welchen singulären Effekt haben der Grad der akademischen Freiheit und der ökonomischen Ungleichheit, Menschen- und Frauenrechte und die Stabilität politischer Institutionen auf die Attraktivität eines Landes als Studiendestination?
  • Beeinflusst das Geschlecht international mobiler Studierenden die Entscheidung für einen Studienort?

Das Cluster bündelt Publikations- und Vortragsaktivitäten zu den Themen Mobilität und migrationsspezifische Ungleichheiten innerhalb des DZHW. Zudem fördert es Kooperationen mit externen Wissenschaftler*innen.

Clusterleitung

Nicolai Netz
Dr. Nicolai Netz Clusterleitung 0511 450670-171
Eva Maria Vögtle
Dr. Eva Maria Vögtle Clusterleitung 0511 450670-359

Mitglieder

Jana Berg Fine Cordua Michael Grüttner Hanna Mentges Dr. Pedro Pineda Hendrik Schirmer Swetlana Sudheimer