Educational paths of school leavers with a higher education entrance qualification - Panel Study of School Leavers with a Higher Education Entrance Qualification 2018

Start of the project: 01-Feb-2017 - End of the project: 30-Sept-2020

The second survey of the DZHW’s “School Leavers with a Higher Education Entrance Qualification” panel study started in December 2018. It takes place six months after students have gained their higher education entrance qualification and follows up on the initial survey of this school leaver year group, that took place while they were still at school.

Data collection of the first survey wave, on the study and career aims of the 2018 school leaver year group, is complete. About 41,000 school leavers with an HE entrance qualification took part in the first survey, six months before they completed their schooling (December 2017). Parallel to the survey of school leavers, school heads were also surveyed for the first time on characteristics of the school context. The school heads survey focused on the make-up of the pupil population in relation to a range of features, and on the school’s provision of information and consultation.

The second wave now focuses on individual educational paths after completing school. The main topic of this survey is diversity, with particular emphasis on respondents’ migrant background. Among other topics, information is collected on:

  • The decision-making process
  • The application phase for higher education and training
  • Educational decisions already reached (e.g. training or study subject, location of HEI)
  • Medium to long-term planning for the study and training phase and professional career.

The survey is part of a series with a long tradition: surveys on the educational or career paths of school leavers with (or shortly before gaining) a higher education entrance qualification have been carried out since the 1970s. The information they generate contributes to the process of continual longitudinal observation and analysis of post-school study, training and career paths, ensuring it is backed up by data. The findings of the school leaver year group surveys have always aroused considerable interest among politicians, the academic world and the public.

Whole project

Lead Researcher

Heiko Quast
Heiko Quast Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-160
Heike Spangenberg
Dr. Heike Spangenberg Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-151
Andreas Woisch
Andreas Woisch Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-184

Office

Anna Meine
Anna Meine +49 511 450670-115

Researchers

Dennis Föste-Eggers Hanna Mentges Laura Isabel Schoger

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Project website

https://bildungswege.dzhw.eu

Funded by

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Ausbildungswege von Studienberechtigten - Studienberechtigtenpanel 2018

Projektbeginn: 01.02.2017 - Projektende: 30.09.2020

Im Dezember 2018 hat die zweite Befragung des DZHW-Studienberechtigtenpanels 2018 begonnen. Sie findet ein halbes Jahr nach dem Erwerb der Hochschulreife statt und knüpft an die erste Befragung dieses Schulabschlussjahrgangs noch während der Schulzeit an.

Die Erhebung der ersten Befragungswelle zu den Studien- und Berufsabsichten des Schulabschlussjahrgangs 2018 ist bereits abgeschlossen. Etwa 41.000 Studienberechtige haben sich an der ersten Befragung ein halbes Jahr vor dem Schulabschluss (Dezember 2017) beteiligt. Parallel zur Befragung der Studienberechtigten wurden erstmals auch die Schulleitungen zu schulischen Kontextmerkmalen befragt. Bei der Schulleiter(innen)befragung standen die Zusammensetzung der Schülerschaft nach verschiedenen Merkmalen sowie die Informations- und Beratungsangebote an der Schule im Mittelpunkt.

Im Zentrum der zweiten Welle steht nun der individuelle Bildungsweg nach dem Schulabschluss. Der thematische Schwerpunkt dieser Erhebung ist Diversität mit besonderem Fokus auf Migrationshintergrund der Probanden. Erhoben werden unter anderem Informationen zu:

  • dem Prozess der Entscheidungsfindung,
  • der Bewerbungsphase für Studium und Ausbildung
  • den bereits getroffenen Bildungsentscheidungen (z. B. Ausbildungs- und Studienfach, Hochschulort)
  • den mittel- bis langfristigen Plänen zur Studien- und Ausbildungsphase sowie zur Berufstätigkeit

Die Befragung ist Bestandteil einer Untersuchungsreihe mit langer Tradition: Seit den 1970er Jahren werden (angehende) Studienberechtigte zu ihrem Werdegang befragt und tragen mit ihren Angaben dazu bei, dass nachschulische Studien-, Ausbildungs- und Berufsverläufe kontinuierlich und datengestützt prozesshaft im Längsschnitt beobachtet und analysiert werden können. Die Ergebnisse der Befragungen von Schulabschlussjahrgängen haben in Politik, Wissenschaft und Öffentlichkeit stets großes Interesse hervorgerufen.

Gesamtprojekt

Projektleitung

Heiko Quast
Heiko Quast Projektleitung 0511 450670-160
Heike Spangenberg
Dr. Heike Spangenberg Projektleitung 0511 450670-151
Andreas Woisch
Andreas Woisch Projektleitung 0511 450670-184

Projektassistenz

Anna Meine
Anna Meine 0511 450670-115

Projektmitarbeit

Dennis Föste-Eggers Hanna Mentges

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Projektwebsite

https://bildungswege.dzhw.eu

Gefördert von

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung