Responsible valuation and quality assurance of open access publications via bibliometric indicators (INDIOA)

Start of the project: 01-Aug-2021 - End of the project: 31-Jul-2023

Given the current importance of Open Access (OA) in science policy, the project aims at an informed use of bibliometric metrics in the evaluation of primary OA publication venues in scientific practice.

The collaborative project with SUB Göttingen combines bibliometric studies with awareness activities to promote a responsible approach to novel OA publishing practices at universities and non-university scientific institutions. The goal is to inform about unintended consequences of the use of bibliometric metrics when choosing a venue to publish. In this way, the willingness of scientific authors to take up innovative and quality-assured OA publication offers from small and medium-sized publishers should be strengthened.

The DZHW subproject will focus in particular on the characteristics of OA journals from small and medium-sized publishers. Bibliometric and publishing indicators will be collected in order to investigate the ostensible indexability of the journals in bibliometric databases. In addition, operational processes of quality assurance will be investigated by means of qualitative case studies of individual OA journals in order to derive recommendations for action. The results will be incorporated into the support measures within the awareness activities of the INDIOA project.

Contact person

Stephan Stahlschmidt
Dr. Stephan Stahlschmidt +49 30 2064177-18

Researchers

Clemens Blümel

External Contact

Najko Jahn

Funded by

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

In cooperation with

Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen

Verantwortungsbewusste Bewertung und Qualitätssicherung von Open-Access Publikationen mittels bibliometrischer Indikatoren (INDIOA)

Projektbeginn: 01.08.2021 - Projektende: 31.07.2023

Angesichts der gegenwärtigen wissenschaftspolitischen Bedeutung von Open Access (OA) zielt das Projekt auf einen informierten Umgang mit bibliometrischen Kennzahlen bei der Bewertung primärer OA-Publikationsorte in der wissenschaftlichen Praxis.

Das Verbundprojekt mit der SUB Göttingen kombiniert bibliometrische Studien mit Awareness-Aktivitäten, um einen verantwortungsbewussten Umgang mit neuartigen OA-Publikationspraxen an Hochschulen und außeruniversitären Wissenschaftseinrichtungen zu befördern. Ziel ist es, über unbeabsichtigte Folgen bei einer uninformierten Verwendung bibliometrischer Kennzahlen bei der Auswahl des Publikationsorts aufzuklären. Dadurch soll die Bereitschaft wissenschaftlicher Autorinnen und Autoren gestärkt werden, innovative und qualitätsgesicherte OA-Publikationsangebote kleiner und mittlerer Verlage wahrzunehmen.

Das Teilprojekt des DZHW wird sich insbesondere den Merkmalen der OA-Journale kleiner und mittlerer Verlage widmen. Bibliometrische und publizistische Indikatoren werden erhoben, um die vordergründige Indexierbarkeit der Journale in bibliometrischen Datenbanken zu untersuchen. Ergänzend werden operative Prozesse der Qualitätssicherung mittels qualitativen Fallstudien einzelner OA Journale untersucht, um Handlungsempfehlungen abzuleiten. Die Ergebnisse fließen in die Unterstützungsmaßnahmen im Rahmen der Awareness-Aktivitäten des Projektes INDIOA ein.

Projektleitung

Stephan Stahlschmidt
Dr. Stephan Stahlschmidt Projektleitung 030 2064177-18

Projektmitarbeit

Clemens Blümel

Externe Ansprechpartner*innen

Najko Jahn

Gefördert von

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Kooperationspartner

Niedersächsische Staats- und Universitätsbibliothek Göttingen