Graduate panel, examination cohort 2017

Start of the project: 01-Jan-2017 - End of the project: 30-Jun-2020

The Graduate Panel 2017 is the first nationwide project in graduate research in Germany to be carried out by a supra-regional group of research institutes. The group partners (DZHW, INCHER, ISTAT) intend to take into account the interests of a range of user groups as comprehensively as possible, with the aim that the network concept AP2017 may prove to be a long-term, workable solution. For the first time, a nationwide survey of graduates combines a national representative sample and a study design with the opportunity for participating universities to include additional indicators based on their requirements. This new approach makes possible to use data not only for national education monitoring, scientific research in higher education but also for quality assessment of individual higher education institutions (HEI). Furthermore, parallel surveys by different actors are avoided. The survey of nationwide representative data on the graduate cohort 2017 in Germany is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Study design

The survey is designed as a longitudinal study with several survey waves. The first wave of the 2017 graduate cohort will be carried out 1-2 years after graduation. This part focuses the topic of transition into the labour market (or into further academic qualifications) and the first job market placing. Other important aspects will be the depiction of the students’ progress while at university and retrospective evaluations of study programmes, because initial surveys provide important feedback for the quality management of study programmes.

The later survey waves will most likely take place five and ten years after graduation. The aim is to coordinate existing survey formats for the later waves too. In addition to the nationwide representative random sample, individual higher education institutions have the option of expanding the survey into a census for their institution. This will be carried out via participation in the "Kooperationsprojekt Absolventenstudien" (KOAB), which is coordinated by ISTAT.

Questionnaire

Multiple actors were involved in developing the AP2017 questionnaire. The process included the integration of two approved nationwide formats (DZHW graduate survey and KOAB graduate study). The present tool is oriented on the latest research in regards to content as well as methods, providing seamless continuation of most of the time series that originated in the DZHW graduate survey, the KOAB studies or a format based on one of these two types.

The AP2017 questionnaire is conceptualized as a core instrument that can be expanded with optional and HEI-specific questions by the KOAB universities. The instrument is available in German and English. Specific questionnaire variations exist for particular sub-groups (bachelor, master, doctorate, graduates of law, medicine and teachers training), as well as for non-traditional programmes of study).

Random sample

The AP2017 is created as a nationwide survey of the graduate cohort 2017 (= examination year 2017). The plan is to take a random sample of 75,000 graduates of all degree levels and types of higher education institutions in Germany (excluding colleges of public administration Universities of the Federal Armed Forces). Individual study programmes from a range of universities will be included in the sample. There is also a possibility that multiple programmes from a single HEI become part of the sample. The HEIs will be informed on the composition of the sample by the beginning of 2018.The sample also includes graduates who have completed a doctorate in 2017; for this reason the timing of the fieldwork phase will be coordinated with DZHW’s NACAPS project.

Fieldwork phase

The fieldwork phase for the first survey wave will take place from October 2018 to February 2019. The survey will be carried out using an online questionnaire; the graduates will be contacted both by post and by email. For data protection reasons contact will be made via the HEIs. ISTAT will support participating institutions in the preparation, implementation and follow-up of the fieldwork phase. We aim to minimise the expense for the participating higher education institutions. In addition, costs arising from updating address data and sending invitations for the nationwide sample will be borne by the project. An average response rate of approx. 25% is assumed for the survey.

Utilisation of findings

The AP2017 findings will be structured in such a way that they match both the requirements of educational monitoring and the needs of general higher education research. The survey findings will also be prepared in such a way that they can be used in the context of internal university evaluation research and quality management. In order to fulfil these demanding criteria, each partner in the group will bring their specific expertise to the preparation of the findings: for example DZHW will take on responsibility for analyses of educational monitoring, among other things; INCHER will contribute its expertise in relation to the international compatibility of instruments and research findings, and ISTAT will deliver use-focussed analysis of findings for applied evaluation research. These evaluation perspectives will be reflected in a joint project publication and also in specific preparations of findings and publications. All participating HEIs will receive both tabular and graphic presentations of the findings for the study programmes surveyed in the AP2017. An anonymised scientific use file for working on research issues will be made available to the scientific community.

Whole project

Lead Researcher

Gregor Fabian
Gregor Fabian Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-133

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Funded by

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

In cooperation with

Institut für angewandte Statistik International Centre for Higher Education Research

Absolventenpanel Prüfungsjahrgang 2017

Projektbeginn: 01.01.2017 - Projektende: 30.06.2020

Mit dem Absolventenpanel 2017 (AP2017) wird erstmals ein bundesweites Projekt der deutschen Absolventenforschung von einem Verbund überregional tätiger Forschungsinstitute getragen. Die Verbundpartner (DZHW, INCHER, ISTAT) haben es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, die Interessen unterschiedlicher Nutzergruppen möglichst umfassend zu berücksichtigen, so dass mit dem Verbundkonzept AP2017 eine langfristig tragfähige Lösung entsteht. Ein gemeinsam abgestimmtes Instrument ermöglicht es, Fragen sowohl des nationalen Bildungsmonitorings als auch der Hochschulsteuerung sowie der Hochschulforschung zu berücksichtigen. Das Verbundkonzept gewährleistet somit die Minimierung von Reibungsverlusten, insbesondere die Vermeidung von Doppelbefragungen, und erlaubt eine vielschichtige Nutzung der Befragungsergebnisse. Die Erhebung bundesweit repräsentativer Daten zum Absolventenjahrgang 2017 wird durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) gefördert.

Studiendesign

Die Befragung ist als Längsschnittstudie mit mehreren Befragungswellen konzipiert. Die erste Befragung des Absolventenjahrgangs 2017 wird ein bis zwei Jahre nach der Beendigung des Studiums durchgeführt. Thematisch stehen hier der Übergang in den Arbeitsmarkt (oder in weitere akademische Qualifikationen) sowie eine erste Arbeitsmarktplatzierung im Mittelpunkt. Die Abbildung der Studienverläufe und retrospektive Studienbewertungen haben ebenfalls einen hohen Stellenwert, da Erstbefragungen ein wichtiges Feedback für die Qualitätssicherung von Studiengängen darstellen.

Weitere Befragungswellen erfolgen voraussichtlich fünf bzw. zehn Jahre nach dem Studienabschluss. Auch für die Folgewellen wird eine Harmonisierung der bestehenden Befragungsformate angestrebt. Neben einer bundesweit repräsentativen Stichprobe besteht für einzelne Hochschulen die Möglichkeit, die Befragung zu einer Vollerhebung für ihre Hochschule auszuweiten. Dies erfolgt über eine (kostenpflichtige) Teilnahme am KOAB-Projekt des ISTAT.

Fragebogen

Das Instrument des AP2017 wurde unter Einbezug zahlreicher Akteure erstellt. Dabei konnten zwei bundesweit bewährte Formate (DZHW-Absolventenbefragung und KOAB-Absolventenstudien) in ein neues Instrument integriert werden. Hierdurch wurde ein am neuesten Forschungsstand orientiertes Instrument erstellt, mit dem ein Großteil der Zeitreihen nahtlos fortgeführt werden kann, die ihren Ursprung in der DZHW-Absolventenbefragung, den KOAB-Studien oder einer an diese beiden Formate angelehnten Umsetzungen haben.

Der Fragebogen des AP2017 wurde als Kerninstrument konzipiert, der von den KOAB-Hochschulen um optionale und hochschulspezifische Fragen erweitert werden kann. Das Instrument wird in deutscher und englischer Sprache angeboten. Für verschiedene Teilgruppen (Bachelor, Master, Promotion, Staatsexamen, darunter Rechtswissenschaft, Medizin und Lehramtsabsolvent(inn)en) sowie für nicht-traditionelle Studienformate existieren spezifische Fragebogenvarianten.

Stichprobe

Das AP2017 sieht eine bundesweite Befragung des Absolventenjahrgangs 2017 vor (= Prüfungsjahrgang 2017). Es wird eine Stichprobe mit 75.000 Absolvent(inn)en aller Abschluss- und Hochschularten in Deutschland (mit Ausnahme der Verwaltungsfachhochschulen und der Hochschulen der Bundeswehr) anvisiert. In die Stichprobenziehung gehen einzelne Studiengänge diverser Hochschulen ein; es ist möglich, dass mehrere Studiengänge einer Hochschule in die Stichprobe gezogen werden. Die genaue Verteilung der Stichprobe auf die Hochschulen wird im Herbst 2017 feststehen. Die Stichprobe beinhaltet auch Absolvent(inn)en, die 2017 eine Promotion abgeschlossen haben, daher erfolgt für die Feldphase eine zeitliche Abstimmung mit dem Projekt "Nacaps" des DZHW.

Feldphase

Die Feldphase für die erste Befragungswelle findet von Oktober 2018 bis Februar 2019 statt. Die Erhebung wird mit einem Online-Fragebogen durchgeführt, wobei die Kontaktaufnahme der Absolvent(inn)en sowohl postalisch als auch per E-Mail stattfinden wird. Sie erfolgt aus Datenschutzgründen über die Hochschulen. Die teilnehmenden Institutionen werden bei der Vorbereitung, Durchführung und Nachbereitung der Feldphase durch das ISTAT unterstützt. Die Aufwände für die teilnehmenden Hochschulen sollen möglichst minimiert werden. Darüber hinaus werden die für die bundesweite Stichprobe anfallenden Sachkosten in Bezug auf Adressaktualisierungen und Einladungsversand übernommen. Für die Befragung wird von einer durchschnittlichen Ausschöpfungsquote von ca. 25% ausgegangen.

Ergebnisverwendung

Die Ergebnisse des AP2017 werden derart strukturiert sein, dass sie sowohl den Erfordernissen des Bildungsmonitorings als auch den Bedarfen der allgemeinen Hochschulforschung entsprechen. Die Befragungsergebnisse werden zudem in einer Form aufbereitet, die sich für die Verwendung im Rahmen der hochschulinternen Evaluationsforschung und des Qualitätsmanagements eignet. Um diesen hohen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, bringen sich die Verbundpartner mit ihrer je spezifischen Expertise in die Ergebnisaufbereitung ein: So wird das DZHW unter anderem Analysen für das Bildungsmonitoring verantworten, das INCHER seine Expertise hinsichtlich der internationalen Anschlussfähigkeit von Instrumenten und Forschungsergebnissen einbringen und das ISTAT nutzenfokussierte Analyseergebnisse für die angewandte Evaluationsforschung liefern. Diese Auswertungsperspektiven werden sich neben einer gemeinsam erstellten Projektpublikation auch in spezifischen Ergebnisaufbereitungen und Publikationen widerspiegeln. Alle teilnehmenden Hochschulen erhalten für die im Rahmen des AP2017 befragten Studiengänge sowohl tabellarische als auch grafische Auswertungen. Der Scientific Community wird für die Bearbeitung von Forschungsfragestellungen ein anonymisiertes Scientific-Use-File zur Verfügung gestellt.

Gesamtprojekt

Projektleitung

Gregor Fabian
Gregor Fabian Projektleitung 0511 450670-133

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Gefördert von

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Kooperationspartner

Institut für angewandte Statistik International Centre for Higher Education Research