Helpdesk to facilitate implementation of the Research Core Dataset

Start of the project: 01-Dec-2016 - End of the project: 31-Dec-2020

The Research Core Dataset (RCD) for the German science system is a standard specification that could in future harmonise the management of research information across research institutions in Germany (relating to e.g. research staff, young academics, third-party funding, patents and publications).

The standard specification was developed in the recently completed RCD specification project (project period: 2013-2015). The development was based on and guided by recommendations of the German Council of Science and Humanities, which published a framework paper for the Research Core Dataset in 2013 (German Council of Science and Humanities 2013). After completion of the development process, the science council published the standard specification and recommended its implementation in 2016 (German Council of Science and Humanities 2016).

A helpdesk was set up to support the ongoing implementation process of the RCD standard. The helpdesk assists research institutions in Germany to interpret the RCD specification. It also provides support to organisations that seek to adapt their information requests to the RCD standard. The helpdesk is provided by the German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies. The project is jointly financed by the German Federal and Länder governments for a period of three years.

Lead Researcher

Sophie Biesenbender (geb. Schmitt)
Dr. Sophie Biesenbender (geb. Schmitt) Lead Researcher +49 30 2064177-37

Researchers

Otmane Azeroual Dr. Sabrina Petersohn Christoph Thiedig

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Project website

https://kerndatensatz-forschung.de/

Funded by

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung und alle 16 Bundesländer

Helpdesk für die Einführung des Kerndatensatz Forschung

Projektbeginn: 01.12.2016 - Projektende: 30.11.2019

Der "Kerndatensatz Forschung" für das deutsche Wissenschaftssystem ist eine Spezifikation von Standards, die eine harmonisierte Erfassung und Vorhaltung von Forschungsinformationen über Forschungseinrichtungen in Deutschland hinweg ermöglichen sollen (in Hinblick auf z.B. Beschäftigte, Nachwuchsforscher(innen), Drittmittel, Patente oder Publikationen).

Zur Erarbeitung dieser Standards wurden im abgeschlossenen Projekt Kerndatensatz Forschung (Laufzeit: 2013-2015) die in den Empfehlungen des Wissenschaftsrats zu einem Kerndatensatz Forschung festgelegten sogenannten "Kerndaten" (sowie weitere Elemente) spezifiziert und definiert. Die mit Abschluss des Projekts vorgelegte Spezifikation des Kerndatensatz Forschung wurde im Januar 2016 durch den Wissenschaftsrat zur Implementierung im deutschen Wissenschaftssystem empfohlen (siehe Empfehlungen zur Spezifikation des Kerndatensatz Forschung).

Zur Unterstützung dieses Implementierungsprozesses wurde ein sogenannter Helpdesk eingerichtet, der Forschungseinrichtungen in Deutschland Hilfestellung bei der Interpretation der Spezifikation des Kerndatensatz Forschung gibt sowie Datennutzerinnen und Datennutzer bei der Formulierung spezifikationskonformer Abfragen unterstützt. Der Helpdesk wird vom Deutschen Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung im Rahmen eines von Bund und Ländern finanzierten dreijährigen Projekts organisiert und betreut.

Mehr erfahren Weniger anzeigen

Projektleitung

Sophie Biesenbender (geb. Schmitt)
Dr. Sophie Biesenbender (geb. Schmitt) Projektleitung 030 2064177-37

Projektmitarbeit

Otmane Azeroual Sabrina Petersohn Christoph Thiedig

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Projektwebsite

https://kerndatensatz-forschung.de/

Gefördert von

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung und alle 16 Bundesländer