Further development of the online survey system ZOFAR

Start of the project: 15-Aug-2015

ZOFAR is the online survey system developed in the service area between 2009 and 2015; it is tailored to the specific requirements of social science research. It comprises a Java Enterprise application that we operate under an open source licence (AGPL V3+). The system’s operation takes into account that survey respondents use a range of different technologies and ensures (e.g. by avoiding the use of JavaScript as far as possible) that all respondents experience the online survey in a similar way, enabling the collection of valid data. It supports a number of standard question types (open questions as well as simple or multiple choice, selection matrix, semantic differentials and hybrids of the latter). The survey system is also capable of showing new types of questions, such as user-friendly recording of long-term biographies at a monthly level or the collection of complex data using several linked questions on one page of the form. It provides numerous possible visual and content-based variations in online survey design (a range of log-in procedures, optional display of the survey length, integration of corporate design, integration of foreign languages, implementation of complex filtering processes).

The server architecture behind ZOFAR is based on a scalable server cluster that contains sufficient redundancy to remain secure in case of breakdown and to offer functional security. The cluster includes Apache HTTP servers, Apache Tomcat Application servers and PostrgreSQL database servers (incl. continuous archiving and hot standby for point-in-time recovery and additional data security). The Apache HTTP servers’ configuration enables surveys to be carried out in parallel and the load can be distributed among several Tomcat Application servers in case of larger surveys.

The further development of the survey system is designed to comply with the demands defined by higher education research and science studies. The plan is to expand the technical functionality and increase the accessibility of online surveys, particularly in view of the use of mobile end-devices, and close cooperation with our research data centre with the aim of achieving efficient documentation of the surveys and making data available quickly.

Services

The Online Research service area offers advice and support to the project teams in higher education research and science studies in planning and implementing web-based surveys. If wished, empirical social projects can make use of services from an early stage for the sampling procedure. We then collaborate closely with the project to produce a questionnaire template that is used to programme the online questionnaires using the Extensible Markup Language XML. The online survey is then stress-tested and trialled in a range of scenarios with simulated participants. Our service repertoire includes implementing a range of log-in procedures, sending invitations and reminders, preparing various response rate statistics, supporting data processing and plausibilizing survey data, and weighting the sample. After the fieldwork is complete, we hand over a comprehensive data package to the project teams containing the survey data as well as, among other things, a code book, marginal distributions, field statistics and the XML file on the online survey. We are planning additional supporting services. Our staff are also available to advise you on methodological aspects of online surveys. The service area would like to promote the discourse and the further development of online research by offering supplementary workshops.

Research

In higher education research and science studies, our surveys are typically addressed to young, well-educated individuals such as people with a higher education admission qualification, students, graduates, doctoral candidates and researchers. Most of them use computers and the internet intensively, and are thus easy to reach by an online survey. This method of data collection has also become increasingly important at DZHW in recent years. The long-term survey series are being successively adapted to this data collection method or expanded to become multi-modal by using an online survey to supplement personal, written or telephone interviews.

This expanded access to our target population and data collection modes is linked, in our opinion, with a range of methodological issues relating to contacting and survey participation, response behaviour and data equivalence. We are following this process closely and would like to find answers to questions such as: to what extent can we use post or email to gain respondents to participate in a scientific study? How can the survey series that have been carried out in writing for many years be adapted to online survey processes? How must online surveys be designed to enable respondents to answer them regardless of the end device used (such as computer, tablet or smartphone)?

Our research interest is therefore not limited to the survey data itself. During an online survey, what are known as ‘paradata’ can be collected simultaneously. They give information about the respondents’ response behaviour and about the end device used (computer/notebook, tablet or smartphone) and its configuration (such as browser and plug-ins). The use of paradata enables us to determine how far differences in response behaviour can be attributed to, for example, the end device or a specific browser. They also help us to ensure that the online survey is available to all participants in similar form, as far as possible.

Last but not least, we realise that the development of our survey system confronts us with new technical challenges such as increasing the system’s stability and expanding the load limits. Our research efforts therefore also address the analysis of load distribution in view of increasingly complex future online surveys involving several hundred thousand respondents.

Lead Researcher

Nadin Kastirke
Dr. Nadin Kastirke Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-437
Andrea Schulze
Andrea Schulze Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-438

Researchers

Viktor Dick Martin Konstantin Silina Kowalewski Christian Meisner

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Weiterentwicklung des Online-Befragungssystems ZOFAR

Projektbeginn: 15.08.2015

Zwischen 2009 und 2015 wurde im Servicebereich das auf die spezifischen Bedürfnisse sozialwissenschaftlicher Forschung zugeschnittene Onlinebefragungssystem ZOFAR entwickelt. Es handelt sich um eine Java-Enterprise-Anwendung, die wir unter einer Open Source Lizenz (AGPL V3+) betreiben. Die Funktionsweise des Systems berücksichtigt, dass die Befragten über unterschiedliche Technologien verfügen und stellt (bspw. durch die weitgehende Vermeidung von JavaScript) sicher, dass alle Personen die Onlinebefragung in ähnlicher Weise erleben und valide Daten erhoben werden können. Es unterstützt etliche Standardfragetypen (sowohl offene Fragen als auch Einfach- und Mehrfachauswahlen, Auswahlmatrizen, semantische Differenziale sowie Hybride daraus). Zusätzlich ist das Befragungssystem in der Lage neue Fragetypen abzubilden, wie die benutzerfreundliche Erfassung langjähriger Biographien auf Monatsebene oder die Erhebung komplexer Daten mittels mehrerer verbundener Fragen auf einer Formularseite. Es bietet zahlreiche Möglichkeiten der inhaltlichen und visuellen Gestaltung von Onlinebefragungen (verschiedene Login-Verfahren, optionale Anzeige der Befragungslänge, Integration von Corporate Designs, Einbindung von Fremdsprachen, Umsetzung von komplexen Filterführungen).

Die Serverarchitektur hinter Zofar basiert auf einem skalierbaren Serververbund, der durch seine Redundanz Ausfall- und Funktionssicherheit bietet. Zum Cluster gehören Apache HTTP-Server, Apache Tomcat-Applikationsserver und PostrgreSQL-Datenbankserver (inkl. Continuous Archiving und Hot-Standby für Point-In-Time-Recovery und zusätzliche Datensicherheit). Die Konfiguration der Apache HTTP-Server ermöglicht die Durchführung paralleler Befragungen und eine Lastverteilung auf mehrere Tomcat-Applikationsserver im Falle von größeren Befragungen.

Die Weiterentwicklung des Befragungssystems erfolgt entlang der Erfordernisse, die seitens der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung definiert werden. Geplant sind Erweiterungen der technischen Funktionalität, wie die Steigerung der Barrierefreiheit von Onlinebefragungen unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von mobilen Endgeräten, sowie eine enge Kooperation mit unserem Forschungsdatenzentrum mit dem Ziel der effizienten Studiendokumentation und zügigen Datenbereitstellung.

Dienstleistungen

Der Servicebereich Onlineforschung berät und unterstützt die Projektteams der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung bei der Planung und Durchführung von webbasierten Befragungen. Auf Wunsch können die sozialempirischen Projekte bereits bei der Stichprobenziehung Serviceleistungen in Anspruch nehmen. In enger Zusammenarbeit entsteht dann eine Fragebogenvorlage. Sie dient der Programmierung der Onlinefragebögen mittels der erweiterbaren Auszeichnungssprache (Extensible Markup Language, XML). Die Onlinebefragung wird anschließend in verschiedenen Szenarien mit simulierten Teilnehmer(inne)n belastet und getestet. Unser Dienstleistungsrepertoire enthält das Umsetzen von verschiedenen Login-Verfahren, das Versenden von Einladungen und Erinnerungen, das Erstellen diverser Rücklaufstatistiken, das Unterstützen der Datenaufbereitung und des Plausibilisierens von Befragungsdaten sowie das Gewichten der Stichprobe. Nach Feldzeitende übergeben wir ein umfangreiches Datenpaket an die Projektteams, das neben den Befragungsdaten u.a. ein Kodebuch, Randverteilungen, Feldstatistiken und die XML-Datei zur Onlinebefragung enthält. Weitere Supportleistungen sind in Planung. Auch für die Beratung zu methodischen Aspekten von Onlinebefragungen stehen die Mitarbeiter(innen) gern zur Verfügung. Durch ergänzende Workshops möchte der Servicebereich den Diskurs und die Weiterentwicklung der Onlineforschung fördern.

Forschung

In der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung befragen wir typischerweise junge und gut ausgebildete Personen, wie Studienberechtigte, Studierende, Absolvent(inn)en, Promovierende und Wissenschaftler(innen). Sie alle gelten als intensive Computer- und Internetnutzer(innen) und wären deshalb gut mit einer online applizierten Befragung zu erreichen. Diese Methode der Datenerhebung erfährt deshalb auch am DHZW seit einiger Zeit zunehmende Bedeutung. Die langjährigen Befragungsreihen werden sukzessive auf diesen Datenerhebungsmodus umgestellt bzw. multimodal erweitert durch eine das persönliche, schriftliche oder telefonische Interview ergänzende Onlinebefragung.

Mit den erweiterten Zugangswegen zur Zielpopulation und Datenerhebungsmodi verbinden sich aus unserer Sicht eine Reihe von methodologischen Fragestellungen hinsichtlich der Kontaktierung und Befragungsteilnahme sowie des Antwortverhaltens und der Datenäquivalenz. Wir begleiten diesen Prozess und möchten Antworten auf Fragen wie diese finden: Inwieweit lassen sich Befragte postalisch oder via E-Mail für die Teilnahme an einer wissenschaftlichen Studie gewinnen? Wie können die langjährigen schriftlich durchgeführten Erhebungsreihen in die Onlinebefragung überführt werden? Wie müssen Onlinebefragungen geschaffen sein, damit sie unabhängig vom Endgerät (wie Computer, Tablet oder Smartphone) beantwortet werden können?

Unser Forschungsinteresse beschränkt sich daher nicht allein auf die Befragungsdaten. Während der Onlinebefragung können zusätzlich sogenannte Paradaten erfasst werden. Sie geben uns Aufschluss über das Antwortverhalten der Respondent(inn)en und liefern uns Informationen zum verwendeten Endgerät (Computer/Notebook, Tablet oder Smartphone) sowie seiner Konfiguration (wie Browser und Plugins). Die Nutzung von Paradaten gibt uns die Möglichkeit zu klären, inwieweit Unterschiede im Antwortverhalten bspw. auf das verwendete Endgerät oder einen bestimmten Browser zurückgeführt werden kann. Darüber hinaus helfen sie uns sicherzustellen, dass die Onlinebefragung allen Teilnehmenden in möglichst ähnlicher Form dargereicht wird.

Nicht zuletzt sehen wir uns durch die Fortschreibung unseres Befragungssystems mit neuen technischen Herausforderungen, wie der Steigerung der Systemstabilität und Erhöhung von Lastgrenzen, konfrontiert. Unsere Forschungsbemühungen befassen sich deshalb auch mit der Analyse von Lastverteilungen angesichts von zunehmend komplexeren Onlinebefragungen, an denen mehrere Hunderttausend Befragungspersonen teilnehmen sollen.

Mehr erfahren Weniger anzeigen

Projektleitung

Nadin Kastirke
Dr. Nadin Kastirke Projektleitung 0511 450670-437
Andrea Schulze
Andrea Schulze Projektleitung 0511 450670-438

Projektmitarbeit

Fine Cordua Kim Dabrat Viktor Dick Martin Konstantin Christian Meisner

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich