ICEwwo: Information system for the Wissenschaft weltoffen data report

Start of the project: 01-Dec-2001

ICEwwo is a databank installation for the Wissenschaft weltoffen project which provides extensive statistical data sets on the international nature of studies and research in Germany. It covers the fields of students, first-year students and graduates as well as researchers’ mobility.

The research area “Research Infrastructure and Methods” operates ICEwwo on behalf of the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). The data forms the basis for the annual publication "Wissenschaft weltoffen", issued jointly by the DAAD and DZHW. In addition to the publication, extended tables are published on the website www.wissenschaft-weltoffen.de. Unlike the other ICE systems, external users currently still have no direct access to the databases, but individual evaluations for interested persons are available.

The ICE database is updated annually through the acquisition of new data sets from the German Federal Statistical Office’s student statistics and with data from our own surveys for the Wissenschaft weltoffen project. Hardware and software are regularly adjusted to current requirements; users are also offered support with statistical and technical issues. We plan to extend the data holdings through the acquisition of historical and international data, as well as the inclusion of additional topics.

Show more Show less

Lead Researcher

Hans Dicken
Hans Dicken Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-412

Researchers

Martin Fuchs Helena Kopp

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Project website

http://www.wissenschaftweltoffen.de/index_html?lang=en

Funded by

Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst

ICEwwo: Informationssystem für das Projekt "Wissenschaft weltoffen"

Projektbeginn: 01.12.2001

ICEwwo ist eine ICE-Installation für das Projekt "Wissenschaft weltoffen", die umfangreiche statistische Datenbestände zur Internationalität von Studium und Forschung in Deutschland aus den Themenbereichen Studierende, Studienanfänger(innen) und Absolvent(inn)en sowie zur Mobilität von Wissenschaftler(inne)n zur Verfügung stellt.

Die Abteilung "Infrastruktur und Methoden" betreibt ICEwwo im Auftrag des Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienstes (DAAD). Die Daten bilden die Grundlage der gemeinsam von DAAD und DZHW herausgegebenen jährlichen Publikation "Wissenschaft weltoffen". Gegenüber der Publikation erweiterte Tabellen werden auf der Internetseite www.wissenschaft-weltoffen.de präsentiert. Anders als bei den anderen ICE-Systemen haben externe Nutzer bislang keinen direkten Zugriff auf die Datenbestände, dafür können auf Wunsch individuelle Auswertungen für interessierte Personen erstellt werden.

Die ICE-Datenbank wird jährlich durch Übernahme der jeweils neuen Datenbestände aus der Hochschulstatistik des Statistischen Bundesamtes sowie mit Daten aus eigenen Erhebungen des Projekts "Wissenschaft weltoffen" aktualisiert. Hard- und Software werden regelmäßig den aktuellen Anforderungen angepasst, sowie die Nutzer bei statistisch-fachlichen Fragen beratend unterstützt. Geplant ist die Erweiterung der Datenbestände durch Übernahme historischer und internationaler Daten, sowie die Aufnahme weiterer Themenbereiche.

Mehr erfahren Weniger anzeigen

Projektleitung

Hans Dicken
Hans Dicken Projektleitung 0511 450670-412

Projektmitarbeit

Martin Fuchs Helena Kopp

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Projektwebsite

http://www.wissenschaft-weltoffen.de/

Gefördert von

Deutscher Akademischer Austausch Dienst