Profitable dropout? Non-monetary returns of multidimensional studying experiences

Start of the project: 01-Jun-2021 - End of the project: 31-May-2024

The interdisciplinary research project is situated in both economic and sociological educational research and is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research in the funding line Study Success and Dropout II (Studienerfolg und Studienabbruch II) . Using causal methods, the project investigates non-monetary returns to different dropout experiences and deliberately chooses a multidimensional approach to the topic by looking at dropout and related study experiences at different points in the course of studies. In contrast to research on monetary returns to education, the aim is to look beyond the mere acquisition of educational certificates and human capital to focus on the entire educational process with all effective educational components and mechanisms that can be influenced to a varying extent by a study that ends without a degree. We assume that participation in academic and noncurricular activities in college not only enhance students' competencies but can also change their non-cognitive skills, attitudes, and goals. Analyses will be conducted using systematically connected longitudinal survey data from the DZHW, which we combine with administrative data from the Institute for Employment Research (IAB). The results of the targeted research project promise to provide evidence-based insights into the extent to which investing in tertiary education can be worthwhile for an individual even without earning a certificate.

Show more Show less
Presentations

Ertragreicher Studienabbruch? Nichtmonetäre Erträge mehrdimensionaler Studienerfahrungen.

Trennt, F., Carstensen, J., & Peter, F. (2021, November).
Ertragreicher Studienabbruch? Nichtmonetäre Erträge mehrdimensionaler Studienerfahrungen. Vortrag auf der Tagung Auftaktveranstaltung – Forschung über Studienerfolg und Studienabbruch II, FernUniversität Hagen.

Profitable dropout? Non-monetary Returns of Multidimensional Studying Experience.

Trennt, F., Carstensen, J., & Peter, F. (2021, September).
Profitable dropout? Non-monetary Returns of Multidimensional Studying Experience. Vortrag auf der Konferenz 3rd Forum „Higher Education and the Labour Market“ (HELM), Institute for Employment Research (IAB) and the German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW).

Contact persons

Frauke Peter
Dr. Frauke Peter +49 511 450670-126
Johann Carstensen
Dr. Johann Carstensen +49 511 450670-914

Researchers

Fabian Trennt

Funded by

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Ertragreicher Studienabbruch? Nichtmonetäre Erträge mehrdimensionaler Studienerfahrungen

Projektbeginn: 01.06.2021 - Projektende: 31.05.2024

Das interdisziplinäre Forschungsprojekt ist sowohl in der ökonomischen als auch soziologischen Bildungsforschung verortet und wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung in der Förderlinie Studienerfolg und Studienabbruch II gefördert. Das Projekt untersucht mittels kausaler Methoden nicht-monetäre Erträge unterschiedlicher Studienabbruchserfahrungen und wählt dabei bewusst einen mehrdimensionalen Zugang, indem der Studienabbruch und damit einhergehende Studienerfahrungen zu unterschiedlichen Zeitpunkten in den Blick genommen werden. Anders als in der Forschung zu monetären Bildungserträgen soll der Blick über den reinen Erwerb von Bildungszertifikaten und Humankapital hinaus auf den gesamten Bildungsprozess mit allen wirksamen Bildungsbestandteilen und Mechanismen gelenkt werden, die von einem ohne Abschluss beendeten Studium in unterschiedlichem Ausmaß beeinflusst werden können. Es wird vermutet, dass die Teilnahme an akademischen und nicht-curricularen Aktivitäten in der Hochschule nicht nur die Kompetenzen der Studierenden erweitert, sondern auch ihre nicht-kognitiven Fähigkeiten, ihre Einstellungen und ihre Ziele verändern kann. Die Analysen erfolgen anhand systematisch verschränkter längsschnittlicher Befragungsdaten des DZHW, die durch administrative Daten des Instituts für Arbeitsmarkt- und Berufsforschung (IAB) ergänzt werden. Die Ergebnisse des angestrebten Forschungsvorhabens versprechen evidenzbasierte Erkenntnisse darüber, inwiefern sich die Investition in tertiäre Bildung auch ohne das Erwerben eines Zertifikats für ein Individuum lohnen kann.

Mehr erfahren Weniger anzeigen
Vorträge

Ertragreicher Studienabbruch? Nichtmonetäre Erträge mehrdimensionaler Studienerfahrungen.

Trennt, F., Carstensen, J., & Peter, F. (2021, November). Ertragreicher Studienabbruch? Nichtmonetäre Erträge mehrdimensionaler Studienerfahrungen. Vortrag auf der Tagung Auftaktveranstaltung – Forschung über Studienerfolg und Studienabbruch II, FernUniversität Hagen.

Profitable dropout? Non-monetary Returns of Multidimensional Studying Experience.

Trennt, F., Carstensen, J., & Peter, F. (2021, September). Profitable dropout? Non-monetary Returns of Multidimensional Studying Experience. Vortrag auf der Konferenz 3rd Forum „Higher Education and the Labour Market“ (HELM), Institute for Employment Research (IAB) and the German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW).

Ansprechpersonen

Frauke Peter
Dr. Frauke Peter 0511 450670-126
Johann Carstensen
Dr. Johann Carstensen 0511 450670-914

Projektmitarbeit

Fabian Trennt

Gefördert von

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung