Importance of legal regulations (institutional context) on dropout and long-term study

Start of the project: 01-Mar-2021 - End of the project: 29-Feb-2024

For the innovation and development opportunities of the economy and society, a high demand for scientifically qualified personnel is forecast. However, not only the increased demand, but also the demographic change make it necessary from the perspective of education and labor market policy to avoid dropouts and the costs and expenses associated with them. Therefore, the question arises as to how the study success can be better ensured in the future and how dropouts can be largely avoided. Once central mechanisms that lead to dropouts have been identified, concrete measures to reduce dropouts can be developed. So far, little systematic research has been done on the significance of the concrete legal regulations of study programmes (“institutional context”). These regulations are empirically found on three different levels of the institutional context, starting with (1) the design of the state higher education laws, to (2) university-wide regulations, to regulations (3) on the level of individual study programmes and modules. The different regulations establish requirements for the scope of study achievements, for registration and deregistration of examination achievements, for the number of repetition possibilities or the regulations for the revocation of achievements if the final examination is not completed within a certain period of time. The regulations vary considerably between federal states, the colleges of a federal state, and even between study programmes at a university. They can act as selection mechanisms if they provide too few exam retakes or too high minimum requirements in terms of the number of credit points to be achieved. Conversely, it could also be the case that strict regulations in particular contribute to well-structured study behaviour, fewer exams are postponed and students complete their modules quickly from the first semester. The aim of the project is to investigate the effect of the study-related institutional context on study progression, dropout intention, long-term study and dropout for three levels (country, university, study program) using existing data sources.

Sub-study 1: Effects of course-related regulations on study progress (principal investigator: Prof. Dr. Christoph Hönnige): The sub-study aims to investigate the effects of university-wide and course-related regulations on study duration and dropout based on the actually observable study progress of students at Leibniz University Hannover (LUH).

Sub-study 2: Institutional Context (principal investigators: Dr. Julian Bernauer, Prof. Dr. Volker Epping): Using machine learning this sub-study aims to classify the characteristics of the institutional context in the form of regulations relevant to the course of study at the level of state higher education laws and general examination regulations of higher education institutions with regard to their influence on study duration and dropout.

Sub-study 3: Duration of studies and dropout (principal investigator: Dr. Axel Oberschelp): This sub-study aims to examine the effects of the institutional context on the frequency of dropout and long-term studies using data on student and graduates numbers from the official higher education statistics.

Sub-study 4: Intention to drop out (principal investigator: Sören Isleib): The sub-study focuses on the individual level and examines the effect of the characteristics of the institutional context on the intention to drop out using survey data from the Student Survey 2021.

This study is funded by BMBF Förderlinie Studienerfolg und Studienabbruch.

Lead Researcher

Monika Jungbauer-Gans
Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-910

Researchers

Sören Isleib Anh Nguyen Xuan Dr. Axel Oberschelp

External Contact

Prof. Dr. Christoph Hönnige, Leibniz Universität Hannover
Prof. Dr. Volker Epping, Leibniz Universität Hannover
Dr. Julian Bernauer, Universität Mannheim

Funded by

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

In cooperation with

Leibniz Universität Hannover Universität Mannheim

Bedeutung des institutionellen Kontextes für Studienabbruch und Langzeitstudium

Projektbeginn: 01.03.2021 - Projektende: 29.02.2024

Video zur Projektvorstellung
anlässlich der BMBF-Transfertagung "Viele Wege führen zum Erfolg. Ein Dialog zwischen Forschung und Praxis zu Studienerfolg und Studienabbruch" am 27./28. April 2021

Für die Innovations- und Entwicklungsmöglichkeiten von Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft wird ein hoher Bedarf an wissenschaftlich qualifiziertem Personal prognostiziert. Aber nicht nur der gestiegene Bedarf, sondern auch der demografische Wandel lassen es aus Perspektive der Bildungs- und Arbeitsmarktpolitik geboten erscheinen, Studienabbrüche und die mit ihnen verbundenen Kosten und Aufwendungen zu vermeiden. Deshalb stellt sich die Frage, wie der Studienerfolg zukünftig besser sichergestellt und Studienabbruch weitgehend vermieden werden kann. Wenn zentrale Mechanismen, die zu Studienabbrüchen führen, identifiziert sind, können konkrete, abbruchreduzierende Maßnahmen entwickelt werden. Noch wenig systematisch untersucht wurde bisher die Bedeutung der konkreten Regelungen des institutionellen Kontextes der Studien- und Prüfungsorganisation. Diese Regelungen finden sich empirisch auf drei verschiedenen Ebenen des institutionellen Kontextes, beginnend (1) bei der Ausgestaltung der Landeshochschulgesetze, über (2) universitätsweite Regelungen bis hin zu Regelungen (3) auf der Ebene einzelner Studiengänge und Module. Die verschiedenen Regelungen begründen Anforderungen an den Umfang von Studienleistungen, zur An- und Abmeldung von Prüfungsleistungen, an die Zahl an Wiederholungsmöglichkeiten oder den Regelungen zur Aberkennung von Leistungen, wenn die Abschlussprüfung nicht in einem bestimmten Zeitraum absolviert wird. Die Regelungen variieren erheblich zwischen Bundesländern, den Hochschulen eines Bundeslandes und selbst zwischen Studiengängen einer Universität. Sie können sich als Selektionsmechanismen auswirken, wenn sie eine zu geringe Zahl an Prüfungswiederholungen vorsehen oder zu hohe Mindestanforderungen in Bezug auf die Zahl der zu erreichenden Credit Points. Umgekehrt könnte es aber auch sein, dass gerade strenge Regelungen zu einem gut strukturierten Studienverhalten beitragen, weniger Prüfungen aufgeschoben werden und die Studierenden vom ersten Semester an zügig ihre Module absolvieren. Das Ziel des Projektes ist es, den Effekt des studienbezogenen institutionellen Kontextes auf Studienverlauf, Abbruchintention, Langzeitstudium und Studienabbruch für drei Ebenen (Land, Universität, Studiengang) anhand bestehender Datenquellen zu untersuchen.

Teilstudie 1: Effekte studiengangsbezogener Regelungen auf Studienverläufe (Teilstudienleitung Prof. Dr. Christoph Hönnige): Die Teilstudie hat zum Ziel, die Effekte hochschulweiter und studiengangsbezogener Regelungen auf die Studiendauer sowie den Studienabbruch anhand des tatsächlich beobachtbaren Studienverlaufs von Studierenden der Leibniz Universität Hannover (LUH) zu untersuchen.

Teilstudie 2: Institutioneller Kontext (Teilstudienleitung Dr. Julian Bernauer, Prof. Dr. Volker Epping): Diese Teilstudie hat das Ziel, die Merkmale des institutionellen Kontextes in Gestalt der studienverlaufsrelevanten Regelungen auf der Ebene von Landeshochschulgesetzen und Rahmenprüfungsordnungen von Hochschulen im Hinblick auf ihren Einfluss auf Studiendauer und Studienabbruch zu klassifizieren.

Teilstudie 3: Studiendauer und Studienabbruch (Teilstudienleitung Dr. Axel Oberschelp): Diese Teilstudie hat das Ziel, den Effekt des institutionellen Kontextes in Gestalt der studienverlaufsrelevanten Regelungen auf der Ebene von Landeshochschulgesetzen und Rahmenprüfungsordnungen von Hochschulen auf die Häufigkeit von Studienabbruch und Langzeitstudium anhand von Daten aus der amtlichen Statistik zu untersuchen.

Teilstudie 4: Abbruchintention (Teilstudienleitung Sören Isleib): Die Teilstudie stellt die Individualebene in den Vordergrund und untersucht den Effekt der Merkmale des institutionellen Kontextes auf die Studienabbruchintention unter Nutzung von Befragungsdaten der Studierendenbefragung 2021.

Dieses Projekt wird gefördert von der BMBF Förderlinie Studienerfolg und Studienabbruch.

Projektleitung

Monika Jungbauer-Gans
Prof. Dr. Monika Jungbauer-Gans Projektleitung 0511 450670-910

Projektmitarbeit

Sören Isleib Anh Nguyen Xuan Dr. Axel Oberschelp

Externe Ansprechpartner*innen

Prof. Dr. Christoph Hönnige, Leibniz Universität Hannover
Prof. Dr. Volker Epping, Leibniz Universität Hannover
Dr. Julian Bernauer, Universität Mannheim

Gefördert von

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Kooperationspartner

Leibniz Universität Hannover Universität Mannheim