Quality measures for the evaluation of biomedical research (QuaMedFo)

Start of the project: 01-Jan-2019 - End of the project: 31-Dec-2021

There is open-mindedness in the biomedical sciences in Germany towards quantitative methods of performance evaluation and the use of metrics for decision making, steering and assessments. Yet many of the evaluation instruments currently in use are criticized because of their sole reliance on bibliometric and funding indicators as well as their biased incentives for scientists.

In this context, QuaMedFo seeks to develop and analyse a wide and balanced range of (potential) indicators to represent biomedical research activities and scholarly performance. The joint research project analyses different data sources with regard to their indicator suitability and practical usability in different evaluation contexts. DZHW coordinates the project, develops bibliometric indicators and analyses input-output relations based on institutional research information in the RCD standard format (RCD: Research Core Dataset). ZB MED carries out text-mining and patent analyses, ZBW focuses on social media and altmetrics analyses, UMG communicates with the project’s medical pilot faculties, analyses clinical practice guidelines, biomedical congresses as well as replication studies and evaluates the practicability of different data sources and indicators developed in the project.

The project is structured in work packages, each with a different focus: “Coverage analysis of biomedical publications”, “Citation-based impact analyses”, “Content classification of biomedical publications”, “RCD-based input-output analyses”, “Translational medicine, transfer and replication”, “Social media and altmetrics” and “Practicability and acceptance”.

The project is of theoretical and practical value for the ongoing debate on the evaluation of scientific performance in different contexts and for different purposes. In addition, the project results may be used to improve research information systems and performance-based funding systems. Finally, they may also open up avenues for the further development of the RCD standard.

Programme: Quantitative Wissenschaftsforschung

Grant number: 01PU17011A

Lead Researcher

Sophie Biesenbender (geb. Schmitt)
Dr. Sophie Biesenbender (geb. Schmitt) Lead Researcher +49 30 2064177-37

Researchers

Valeria Aman

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Funded by

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

In cooperation with

Deutsche Zentralbibliothek für Medizin Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft Universitätsmedizin Göttingen

Qualitätsmaẞe zur Evaluierung medizinischer Forschung (QuaMedFo)

Projektbeginn: 01.01.2019 - Projektende: 31.12.2021

Die Medizin hat eine hohe Affinität zu quantitativen Verfahren der Leistungsbewertung und der Nutzung dieser Metriken zu Entscheidungs-, Steuerungs- und Bewertungsprozessen. Aufgrund ihrer Fokussierung auf bibliometrische und drittmittelbezogene Indikatoren und der damit verbundenen einseitigen Anreizwirkungen stehen viele dieser Verfahren in der Kritik.

Im Rahmen des QuaMedFo-Verbunds sollen daher verschiedene Indikatoren zur Abbildung medizinischer Forschung(sleistungen)entwickelt und bewertet werden. In sieben Modulen werden unterschiedliche Datenzugänge in Hinblick auf ihre Eignung zur Indikatorenbildung sowie zur praktischen Verwendung in Evaluationskontexten geprüft. Das DZHW koordiniert den Verbund, entwickelt bibliometrische Indikatoren und analysiert Input-Output-Relationen auf Basis von Daten im Kerndatensatz-Format. ZB MED führt Text- und Patentanalysen, ZBW Social Media und Altmetrics-Untersuchungen durch. Die UMG organisiert die Kommunikation mit Pilotfakultäten, analysiert medizinische Leitlinien und Tagungen sowie die Replikation medizinischer Studien und führt Erhebungen an Pilotfakultäten durch.

Das Projekt ist in Modulen strukturiert, die teils parallel, teils konsekutiv durch die Partner in unterschiedlichen Kooperationen durchgeführt werden. Neben der Verbund- und Projektkoordination umfasst das Projekt die folgenden inhaltlichen Module: „Abdeckungsanalyse medizinischer Publikationen“, „Zitatbasierte Impactmaße”, „Inhaltliche Klassifizierung von Texten als Differenzierungswerkzeug“, „Input-Output-Relation gemäß Kerndatensatz Forschung“, „Translation, Praxistransfer und Replikation“, „Social Media und Altmetrics“ sowie „Praktikabilität, Akzeptanz und Verhaltenswirksamkeit“.

Mit dem Projekt soll sowohl ein theoretischer, als auch ein praktischer Beitrag zur Debatte um die Bewertung wissenschaftlicher Leistungen in verschiedenen Evaluationskontexten geleistet werden. Darüber hinaus können die Projektergebnisse bei der Gestaltung von FIS- oder LOM-Systemen nützlich sein und über die Medizin hinaus Weiterentwicklungsoptionen zum Kerndatensatz Forschung aufzeigen.

Förderlinie: Quantitative Wissenschaftsforschung

Förderkennzeichen: 01PU17011A

Projektleitung

Sophie Biesenbender (geb. Schmitt)
Dr. Sophie Biesenbender (geb. Schmitt) Projektleitung 030 2064177-37

Projektmitarbeit

Valeria Aman

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Gefördert von

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Kooperationspartner

Deutsche Zentralbibliothek für Medizin Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung Leibniz-Informationszentrum Wirtschaft Universitätsmedizin Göttingen