Discipline-based knowledge transfer practices: expectations, practices, and effects of knowledge transfer in a cross-disciplinary perspective (DiTraP)

Start of the project: 01-May-2022 - End of the project: 30-Apr-2025

In this research project, we investigate discipline-based practices of knowledge transfer that emerge from the possible tension between discipline-inherent logics of research and increased expectations in terms of relevance and knowledge transfer directed at science. We want to elaborate how these expectations are translated into disciplinary practices. More specifically, we elucidate the expectations, practices, and effects of knowledge transfer in a cross-disciplinary perspective:

  • Which conceptions of knowledge transfer can be identified in the different disciplines? Are there terminological and conceptual differences across disciplines or between science and science policy?
  • What expectations do scientists perceive with regard to knowledge transfer activities and how do they position themselves in response?
  • Which epistemic conditions promote and which prevent knowledge transfer activities, and which challenges and obstacles are associated with these activities in the different disciplines?
  • What prevents academics from participating in knowledge transfer activities and what limits to knowledge transfer exist? Are there conflicts with other central elements of research, e.g. research quality, or a perceived risk to the research process due to a magnified application orientation?
  • In what form do knowledge transfer practices take place and at which stages of the research does the integration of knowledge happen? Which of these practices are deliberately labelled as knowledge transfer in alignment with the overarching goal of transferring knowledge?
  • Which effects do the translation and integration of knowledge transfer produce at the level of knowledge production and discipline-specific research practices (e.g. effects on publication behaviour, career or (foreseeable) long-term effects through ex ante impact assessments)?

Using a mixed-methods design that combines statistically representative methods and qualitative in-depth analyses, the project will examine in a rigorous cross-disciplinary perspective how different disciplines integrate the requirement for knowledge transfer into their research practices and the effect these expectations have on the production of knowledge across disciplines.

The aim of the project is to explain how and why disciplines react differently to knowledge transfer requirements and develop specific knowledge transfer practices. An analytical distinction is made between the conceptual level (perceptions of requirements, expectations of knowledge transfer and the knowledge transfer concepts involved) and the research practice level (integration and translation of knowledge transfer activities at different points in the research process). At both levels a central goal is to identify knowledge transfer obstacles and barriers that arise from the tension between disciplinary logic and knowledge transfer requirements. At the same time, potentials are to be tapped that could originate, for example, from alternative knowledge transfer concepts or practices.

Contact person

Melike Janßen
Melike Janßen +49 30 2064177-60

External Contact

, Robert K. Merton Zentrum (RMZ)

Funded by

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Disziplinenspezifische Wissenstransferpraktiken: Erwartungen, Praktiken und Effekte des Wissenstransfers im disziplinären Vergleich (DiTraP)

Projektbeginn: 01.05.2022 - Projektende: 30.04.2025

In diesem Forschungsprojekt untersuchen wir fachspezifische Praktiken des Wissenstransfers, die sich im möglichen Spannungsverhältnis zwischen disziplinären Eigenlogiken der Forschung und gestiegenen Relevanzerwartungen bzw. Wissenstransferanforderungen an die Wissenschaft herausbilden. Wir möchten herausfinden, wie Transferanforderungen in disziplinäre Praktiken übersetzt werden. Konkreter adressieren wir dabei die Erwartungen, Praktiken und Effekte des Wissenstransfers im disziplinären Vergleich:

  • Welches Verständnis von Wissenstransfer lässt sich in den unterschiedlichen Disziplinen erkennen? Lassen sich begrifflich-konzeptuelle Unterschiede zwischen Disziplinen oder auch zwischen Wissenschaft und Wissenschaftspolitik identifizieren?
  • Welche Erwartungen an ihre Forschungsaktivitäten bzgl. Wissenstransfer nehmen Wissenschaftler*innen wahr? Wie positionieren sie sich diesen gegenüber?
  • Welche epistemischen Bedingungen befördern, welche verhindern Transferaktivitäten und welche Herausforderungen und Hemmnisse sind mit Transferaktivitäten in den unterschiedlichen Disziplinen verbunden?
  • Was hindert Wissenschaftler*innen, an Transferaktivitäten zu partizipieren und welche Grenzen des Wissenstransfers werden dadurch deutlich? Gibt es Konflikte mit anderen Zielfunktionen der Forschung, z.B. Forschungsqualität, oder wahrgenommene Risiken im Forschungsprozess durch die Anwendungsorientierung?
  • In welcher Form finden Wissenstransferpraktiken statt und an welchen Stellen im Forschungsprozess werden sie integriert? Welche dieser Praktiken werden bewusst als Wissenstransfer gelabelt und laufen unter dieser Zielstellung?
  • Welche Effekte produziert die Übersetzung und Integration von Wissenstransfer auf der Ebene der Wissensproduktion und disziplinspezifischer Forschungspraktiken (z.B. Auswirkungen auf Publikationsverhalten, Karriere oder (absehbare) langfristige Effekte durch ex ante Formulierung eines möglichen Impacts der Forschung)?

Mithilfe eines Mixed-Methods-Designs, das statistisch-repräsentative Verfahren und qualitative Tiefenanalysen miteinander kombiniert, untersuchen wir in einer dezidiert Disziplinen vergleichenden Perspektive, wie unterschiedliche Disziplinen die Anforderung nach Wissenstransfer in ihre Forschungspraktiken integrieren und welche Effekte der Umgang mit diesen Erwartungen auf die Wissensproduktion in den Disziplinen produziert.

Ziel ist es zu erklären, wie und warum Disziplinen teils unterschiedlich auf Wissenstransferanforderungen reagieren und spezifische Wissenstransferpraktiken entwickeln. Dabei wird analytisch zwischen der begrifflichen Ebene (Wahrnehmung von Anforderungen, Erwartungen an Wissenstransfer und die darin involvierten Wissenstransferkonzepte) und der forschungspraktischen Ebene (Integration und Übersetzung von Wissenstransferaktivitäten an unterschiedlichen Stellen im Forschungsprozess) unterschieden. Auf beiden Ebenen sollen Wissenstransferhemmnisse und -barrieren eruiert werden, die durch die Spannung disziplinärer Eigenlogiken mit Wissenstransferanforderungen entstehen. Gleichzeitig sollen Potenziale erschlossen werden, die sich z.B. durch alternative Wissenstransferbegriffe oder Praktiken ergeben könnten.

Ansprechperson

Melike Janßen
Melike Janßen 030 2064177-60

Externe Ansprechpartner*innen

, Robert K. Merton Zentrum (RMZ)

Gefördert von

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung