Motives, Opportunities, Limits and Requirements for the Archiving and Secondary Use of Different Data Types in Higher Education and Science Studies (MoGAADat)

Start of the project: 01-Dec-2019 - End of the project: 28-Feb-2022

There is a growing interest in archiving research data and sharing it for secondary use. To date, in the field of higher education and science studies, the main types of data available for secondary use are standardized survey data and to some extent, data from semi-structured interviews. However, the research field offers diverse research data, which can be classified into different data types. In addition, the latest technological developments are generating new types of research data (e.g., big data).

Previous experience regarding requirements of the archiving and secondary use of data from standardized surveys and semi-structured interviews is only partly applicable to other data types, due to the specific features of each type (in relation to data generation, structuredness, and data format).

In the context of the project presented here (funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research, BMBF), the DZHW’s Research and Data Centre (FDZ-DZHW) will examine the archiving and secondary use of various data types in the field of higher education and science research. The FDZ plans to conduct expert interviews and an online survey in order to examine the scientific community’s view of the motives, opportunities and limits that favour or stand against the archiving and secondary use of different data types and what requirements are placed on this archiving and secondary use. The research findings will be published, and in addition, a report on the archiving and secondary use of various data types will be prepared in particular for research funding providers, the scientific community and research data centres. The project also intends to expand the DZHW’s FDZ research data infrastructure for one additional data type, as an example of what is possible.

Lead Researcher

Florence Baillet
Florence Baillet Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-426

Researchers

Dr. Andreas Daniel Anne Gärtner Dİlek İkİz-Akıncı René Reitmann Percy Scheller

Employer/client

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Motive, Chancen, Grenzen und Anforderungen an die Archivierung und Sekundärnutzung unterschiedlicher Datentypen in der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung (MoGAADat)

Projektbeginn: 01.12.2019 - Projektende: 28.02.2022

Forschungsdaten sollen zunehmend archiviert und zur Sekundärnutzung bereitgestellt werden. Im Bereich der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung sind bislang hauptsächlich standardisierte Befragungsdaten und zum Teil leitfadengestützte Interviewdaten zur Sekundärnutzung verfügbar. Das Forschungsfeld weist jedoch eine hohe Heterogenität an Forschungsdaten, die in unterschiedliche Datentypen klassifiziert werden können, auf. Zudem generieren wachsende technische Möglichkeiten neue Arten von Forschungsdaten (z. B. Big Data).

Bisherige Erfahrungen zu den Anforderungen an die Archivierung und zur Sekundärnutzung von standardisierten Befragungsdaten und leitfadengestützten Interviewdaten sind aufgrund der jeweiligen Spezifika (in Bezug auf die Datengenese, Strukturiertheit und das Datenformat) nur bedingt auf andere Datentypen übertragbar.

Im Rahmen des vorliegenden Projektes (gefördert durch das BMBF) befasst sich das FDZ des DZHW daher mit der Archivierung und Sekundärnutzung verschiedener Datentypen in der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung. Es soll untersucht werden, welche Motive, Chancen und Grenzen aus Sicht der Scientific Community für oder gegen die Archivierung und Sekundärnutzung unterschiedlicher Datentypen sprechen und welche Anforderungen bei der Archivierung und Sekundärnutzung bestehen. Dazu ist geplant Expert*inneninterviews und einen Online-Survey durchzuführen. Neben der Publikation der Forschungsergebnisse wird beabsichtigt, insbesondere für Forschungsförderer, die Scientific Community und Forschungsdatenzentren eine Handreichung zur Archivierung und Sekundärnutzung verschiedener Datentypen zu entwickeln. Zudem soll in dem Projekt die Forschungsdateninfrastruktur des FDZ des DZHW exemplarisch für einen Datentypen erweitert werden.

Projektleitung

Florence Baillet
Florence Baillet Projektleitung 0511 450670-426

Projektmitarbeit

Dr. Andreas Daniel Anne Gärtner Dİlek İkİz-Akıncı René Reitmann Percy Scheller

Auftraggeber

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung