Comparative Governance of Higher Education Institutions in the German Federal States (VerGHiL)

Start of the project: 01-Jan-2019 - End of the project: 31-Dec-2020

In a feasibility study to be carried out in 2019 and 2020, the DZHW is investigating the establishment of an infrastructure for long-term, comparative observation of developments in the field of university governance in the German federal states. This would meet the information needs of both academics dealing with issues of higher education governance and science policy actors at federal, state, and higher education level who are involved in steering and service tasks. Since continuous monitoring has not been carried out yet, the relevant information is currently available only in scattered form and not systematically processed for use. A document portal could provide not only a systematic observation of the legal framework, the management, and governance tools used, but also of the competencies and influence potential of the actors involved, thus, enabling inter-state comparisons.

In the first stage, the information needs of potential users will be surveyed. To this end, a workshop with scientists working in the field was held in September 2019. Further members of this user group will be interviewed in February/March within the framework of the survey. Expert discussions with the representatives of the responsible state ministries are planned for the first half of 2020 to determine their needs for information on governance in the states. As a result, the project will, among other things, provide an overview of the research landscape in the field of higher education governance and survey the information and data needs of the relevant actors for the use of such a research infrastructure, which is yet to be established.

In parallel, conceptual work on the relevant document types, the possible search functions supported by the portal and based on metadata as well as the possibilities of integrating content-analytical evaluation tools (e.g. text mining) is being carried out in close cooperation with the RDC of the DZHW. The basis of the document portal to be conceived within the VerGHiL project is a document collection already existing in the DZHW and created within different working contexts. It contains, among other things, state higher education laws (including drafts, statements, and expert opinions), documents on state higher education development, documents on higher education funding, higher education contracts and pacts, as well as documents on federal higher education policy (Higher Education Framework Law, printed materials of the Bundestag and Bundesrat). The present collection contains about 6,000 documents and currently covers the period from 2002 to 2018.

Lead Researcher

Axel Oberschelp
Dr. Axel Oberschelp Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-348

Researchers

Thorben Sembritzki

Projekt Vergleichende Governance von Hochschulen in den Ländern (VerGHiL)

Projektbeginn: 01.01.2019 - Projektende: 31.12.2020

Das DZHW untersucht im Rahmen einer in den Jahren 2019 und 2020 durchzuführenden Machbarkeitsstudie den Aufbau einer Infrastruktur zu längerfristigen, vergleichenden Beobachtung der Entwicklungen im Bereich der Hochschulgovernance in den Bundesländern. Damit könnten sowohl die Informationsbedarfe von Wissenschaftler*innen, die sich mit Fragestellungen der Hochschulgovernance beschäftigen, als auch von wissenschaftspolitischen Akteuren in Bund, Ländern und Hochschulen, die mit Steuerungs- und Dienstleistungsaufgaben befasst sind, abgedeckt werden. Da eine kontinuierliche Beobachtung bisher nicht erfolgt, liegen die relevanten Informationen zurzeit nur verstreut und für eine Nutzung nicht systematisch aufbereitet vor. Ein Dokumentenportal könnte eine systematische Beobachtung der rechtlichen Rahmenbedingungen, der eingesetzten Steuerungs- bzw. Governance-Instrumente, aber auch der Kompetenzen und Einflusspotentiale der beteiligten Akteure leisten und bundeslandübergreifende Vergleiche ermöglichen.

In einem ersten Schritt werden die Informationsbedarfe der potentiellen Nutzer*innen erhoben. Hierzu wurde bereits im September 2019 ein Workshop mit Wissenschaftler*innen, die auf dem Gebiet tätig sind, durchgeführt. Weitere Mitglieder dieser Nutzer*innengruppe werden im Februar/März im Rahmen eines Surveys befragt. Mit Vertreter*innen der zuständigen Landesministerien sind für die erste Jahreshälfte 2020 Fachgespräche geplant, um deren Bedarfe an Informationen zur Governance der Länder zu ermitteln. Im Ergebnis werden im Rahmen des Projekts u.a. ein Überblick über die Forschungslandschaft im Bereich der Hochschulgovernance erstellt und die Informations- und Datenbedarfe der relevanten Akteure für die Nutzung einer solchen, noch aufzubauenden Forschungsinfrastruktur erhoben.

Parallel finden in enger Kooperation mit dem FDZ des DZHW konzeptionelle Arbeiten zu den relevanten Dokumententypen, den möglichen, vom Portal unterstützten und auf Metadaten basierenden Suchfunktionen sowie den Möglichkeiten einer Integration inhaltsanalytischer Auswertungstools (z.B. Text-Mining) statt. Grundlage des im Projekt VerGHiL zu konzipierenden Dokumentenportals ist eine im DZHW bereits vorhandene und aus unterschiedlichen Arbeitszusammenhängen heraus angelegte Dokumentensammlung. Sie enthält u.a. Landeshochschulgesetze (einschl. Entwürfe, Stellungnahmen und Gutachten), Dokumente zur Landeshochschulentwicklung, Dokumente zur Hochschulfinanzierung, Hochschulverträge und -pakte, sowie Dokumente zur Hochschulpolitik des Bundes (Hochschulrahmengesetz, Drucksachen des Bundestags und des Bundesrats). Die vorliegende Sammlung enthält ca. 6.000 Dokumente und deckt derzeit den Zeitraum von 2002 bis 2018 ab.

Projektleitung

Axel Oberschelp
Dr. Axel Oberschelp Projektleitung 0511 450670-348

Projektmitarbeit

Thorben Sembritzki

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich