Digitalisation and metrification of science using platform-based infrastructure

Start of the project: 01-Feb-2019 - End of the project: 31-Dec-2019

This project examines the link between platformizing processes and the emergence of new metrics in science. Currently, digital platforms are modifying scientific practices of communication, information, and evaluation in many ways. New providers such as ResearchGate and Mendeley are reaching millions of users and changing the way science is presented.

One specific property of these digital platforms is that they provide infrastructure that enables metrification of all information and activities to be carried out on the platforms. The resulting process data are available in aggregated form in real time via new providers such as Altmetric.com and PlumX (Franzen 2015; Gauch and Blümel 2017) and form the basis of new metrics that are used by scientists and in demand by organisations. The direct aim of the metrics seems to be to increase activity on the platform. It is not yet clear how these metrics affect the perception of new forms of online communication, how relevant they are for the attention paid to scientific content, and how they contribute to stabilizing the digital platforms.

Against this background, the project examines the role of metrics in the establishment of these scientific platforms in more detail. How do they impact the distribution of attention in science? The research project operates at the interface between platform sociology (Gillespie 2010, 2015; van Dijck and Poell 2013) and infrastructure studies on the one hand, and on the other the sociologies of evaluation (Lamont, 2012) and quantification (Espeland and Stevens, 2008) on the other. The project’s initial assumption is that on the one hand, metrification pre-structures the possibilities of web-based behaviour according to the platform constructors’ intentions and can on the other hand influence the attractiveness of platform use. For this reason, platform-based metrics are a challenge not only for quantitative science research, but also for bilbliometrics, to the extent that they are seen as an alternative to established indicators and processes of the evaluation of research achievements.

Lead Researcher

Clemens Blümel
Clemens Blümel Lead Researcher +49 30 2064177-31

Researchers

Max Leckert

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Digitalisierung und Metrifizierung der Wissenschaft durch plattformbasierte Infrastrukturen

Projektbeginn: 01.02.2019 - Projektende: 31.12.2019

Dieses Projekt untersucht den Zusammenhang zwischen Prozessen der Plattformisierung und der Herausbildung neuer Metriken in der Wissenschaft. Digitale Plattformen modifizieren gegenwärtig vielfach wissenschaftliche Praktiken des Kommunizierens, Informierens und Bewertens. Neue Anbieter wie ResearchGate oder Mendeley erreichen Millionen von Nutzern und verändern die Art und Weise, wie Wissenschaft präsentiert wird.

Eine spezifische Eigenschaft dieser digitalen Plattformen ist es, Infrastrukturen bereitzustellen, die einer Metrifizierung aller auf diesen Plattformen getätigten Informationen und Aktivitäten zugänglich sind. Die daraus resultierenden Prozessdaten sind über neue Anbieter, wie Altmetric.com oder PlumX in aggregierter Form und in Echtzeit verfügbar (Franzen 2015; Gauch and Blümel 2017) und bilden die Grundlage für neue Metriken, die von Wissenschaftlern genutzt und von Organisationen nachgefragt werden. Die Metriken scheinen dabei direkt auf die Steigerung der Aktivitäten auf den Plattformen abzuzielen. Noch ist unklar, in welcher Form sich diese Metriken auf die Wahrnehmung neuer Formen der Onlinekommunikation auswirken, inwiefern sie für die Beachtung wissenschaftlicher Inhalte relevant sind und zur Stabilisierung der digitalen Plattformen beitragen.

Vor diesem Hintergrund fragt das Projekt genauer nach der Rolle von Metriken für die Etablierung dieser wissenschaftlichen Plattformen. Welche Folgen ergeben sich für die Verteilung von Aufmerksamkeit in der Wissenschaft? Das Forschungsprojekt ist an den Schnittstellen zwischen Plattformsoziologie (Gillespie 2010, 2015; van Dijck and Poell 2013) und Infrastructure Studies einerseits und den Soziologien der (Be-)wertung (Lamont, 2012) und Quantifizierung (Espeland and Stevens 2008) andererseits angesiedelt. Metrifizierung, so die Ausgangsüberlegung des Projekts, strukturiert einerseits als Ziel von Plattformkonstrukteuren die Möglichkeiten web-basierten Verhaltens vor und kann andererseits die Attraktivität der Plattformnutzung beeinflussen. Plattformbasierte Metriken stellen daher nicht nur für die quantitative Wissenschaftsforschung, sondern auch für die Bibliometrie eine Herausforderung dar, insofern sie als Alternative zu etablierten Indikatoren und Verfahrensweisen der Bewertung von Forschungsleistung verstanden werden.

Projektleitung

Clemens Blümel
Clemens Blümel Projektleitung 030 2064177-31

Projektmitarbeit

Max Leckert

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich