Designing a "Nationwide Graduate Panel in Germany 2017" (buildAP) - joint project of the DZHW with INCHER Kassel

Start of the project: 01-Aug-2015 - End of the project: 30-Jun-2017

The German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW) and the Universität Kassel's International Centre for Higher Education Research (INCHER) have agreed to carry out a joint panel study of graduates from 2017 onwards and to collaborate beforehand on designing the survey. This decision was made in view of the fact that graduate surveys are becoming increasingly important - for a range of user groups (research, higher education administration, education monitoring and higher education policy) - but at the same time, conflicts on field access are increasingly being registered within the research field.

Previously the DZHW has carried out a graduate study in Germany with a nationwide sample every four years. INCHER Kassel coordinates the annual graduate surveys of around 70 higher education institutions (HEIs) in the collaborative KOAB graduate surveys project. The aim of the buildAP project is to design a joint survey for the 2017 graduate cohort, to be carried out as far as possible with a unified questionnaire. The aim is to design a project that will cover the data collection requirements of academic higher education research as well as requirements for HEI-specific findings and for national reporting on education, while also finding an attractive, contemporary format to help increase public reception of the findings. Another important aspect of the design phase is discussion and agreement with institutes that carry out graduate surveys for individual federal states (Bavaria, Saxony, Rhineland-Palatinate and Baden-Wuerttemberg (universities of applied science)).

Workshops: the design phase covered by the buildAP project comprises a period of approx. 1.5 years during which a total of six workshops will be carried out. The workshops are thematically structured and form core elements of the project, primarily giving the opportunity for theoretical and methodological checking and further development of the survey design and tools. The workshops are designed as expert forums where the whole range of user interests will also be represented. This is intended to strengthen communication structures between the relevant actors in the field of graduate research.

Dates

  • Workshop 1 "Introduction and research issues" 7 October 2015 (Kassel)
  • Workshop 2 "Further academic qualifications: transitions, educational careers" 26 November 2015 (Hannover)
  • Workshop 3 "Entering a career, career start, career paths" 18 February 2016 (Kassel)
  • Workshop 4 "Educational pathways, education experience, education evaluation" 12 May 2016 (Hannover)
  • Workshop 5 "Context data to explain educational and career paths" planned for September 2016 (Kassel)
  • Workshop 6 "Final work on the survey design and ensuring data quality" planned for February 2017 (Hannover)

Whole project

Lead Researcher

Gregor Fabian
Gregor Fabian Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-133

Office

Susanne Redeke
Susanne Redeke +49 511 450670-106

Researchers

Julika Schulz

External Contact

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Employer/client

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

In cooperation with

International Centre for Higher Education Research

Konzept für ein "Bundesweites Absolventenpanel 2017" (buildAP) - Verbundprojekt des DZHW und INCHER-Kassel

Projektbeginn: 01.08.2015 - Projektende: 30.06.2017

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung (DZHW) und das International Centre for Higher Education Research der Universität Kassel (INCHER) haben sich darauf verständigt, ab dem Jahr 2017 ein nationales Absolventenpanel gemeinsam durchzuführen und im Vorfeld ein gemeinsames Erhebungsdesign zu erarbeiten. Diese Entscheidung vollzog sich vor dem Hintergrund, dass Absolventenstudien eine zunehmende Bedeutung erfahren – dies für unterschiedliche Nutzergruppen (Forschung, Hochschuladministration, Bildungsmonitoring und Hochschulpolitik) – , zugleich aber innerhalb des Forschungsfeldes zunehmende Konflikte beim Feldzugang festzustellen sind.

Das DZHW führte bislang alle vier Jahre eine Absolventenstudie mit einer bundesweiten Stichprobe durch. INCHER-Kassel koordiniert jährliche Absolventenstudien von rund 70 Hochschulen im Rahmen des "Kooperationsprojekt Absolventenstudien (KOAB)". Ziel des Projekts buildAP ist es, für den Absolventenjahrgang 2017 eine gemeinsame Studie zu konzipieren, welche – so weit möglich – mit einem einheitlichen Befragungsinstrument ins Feld geht. Mit dem zu erarbeitenden Konzept soll der Bedarf an Datenerhebung für die wissenschaftliche Hochschulforschung, für hochschulspezifische Ergebnisse sowie für die nationale Bildungsberichterstattung abgedeckt werden, aber auch ein ansprechendes und zeitgemäßes Format gefunden werden mit dem die öffentliche Rezeption der Ergebnisse erhöht werden kann. Auch die Diskussion und Abstimmung mit Instituten, die Absolventenstudien für einzelne Bundesländer durchführen (Bayern, Sachsen, Rheinland-Pfalz, Baden-Württemberg (FHs)), ist ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Konzeptionsphase.

Workshops: Die durch das buildAP-Projekt abgedeckte Konzeptionsphase umfasst einen Zeitraum von ca. 1,5 Jahren, in dem insgesamt sechs Workshops durchgeführt werden. Die thematisch gegliederten Workshops stellen Kernelemente des Projekts dar, welche vor allem der theoretischen und methodischen Überprüfung und Weiterentwicklung des Erhebungsdesigns und der Befragungsinstrumente dienen. Die Workshops sind als Expert(inn)en-Workshops angelegt, bei denen zugleich die unterschiedlichen Nutzer(innen)interessen repräsentiert werden. Hierdurch soll zudem eine Stärkung der Kommunikationsstrukturen zwischen den relevanten Akteur(inn)en im Feld der Absolventenforschung erreicht werden.

Termine

  • Workshop 1 "Auftakt und Forschungsfragen" am 7. Oktober 2015 (Kassel)
  • Workshop 2 "Weitere akademische Qualifizierungen: Übergänge, Werdegänge" am 26. November 2015 (Hannover)
  • Workshop 3 "Berufseinmündung, Berufsstart, berufliche Werdegänge" am 18. Februar 2016 (Kassel)
  • Workshop 4 "Studienverlauf, Studienerfahrung, Studienbewertung" am 12. Mai 2016 (Hannover)
  • Workshop 5 "Kontextdaten zur Erklärung von Bildungs- und Erwerbsverläufen" am 22. September 2016 (Kassel)
  • Workshop 6 "Abschließende Behandlung des Erhebungsdesigns und Sicherung der Datenqualität" am 27. April 2017 (Hannover)

Gesamtprojekt

Projektleitung

Gregor Fabian
Gregor Fabian Projektleitung 0511 450670-133

Projektassistenz

Susanne Redeke
Susanne Redeke 0511 450670-906

Externe Ansprechpartner*innen




Auftraggeber

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Kooperationspartner

International Centre for Higher Education Research