German Länder analyses as part of the evaluation of the Higher Education Pact by the German Science and Humanities Council

Start of the project: 15-Nov-2022 - End of the project: 30-Sept-2023

In 2007, the Federal Government and the Länder agreed on the Higher Education Pact 2020 in order to provide the necessary capacities at higher education institutions for all those willing to study in times of high demand. To this end, the Federal and state governments raised funds of around 34 billion euros during the programme period of the Higher Education Pact from 2007 to 2020 and made available at least 4.5 billion euros for the additional funding in the years 2021 to 2023.

In December 2021, the Joint Science Conference (GWK) commissioned the German Science and Humanities Council to conduct an ex-post evaluation of the Higher Education Pact 2020. The evaluation is to include an assessment of the achievement of objectives, the impact and the economic efficiency of the funding programme. The objectives of the evaluation are to assess the effects of the Higher Education Pact 2020 on the German higher education system, to make recommendations for future federal and state programmes and to generate knowledge on higher education policy for the federal and state governments within the framework of their respective constitutional competencies. The evaluation shall also consider which steering effects have been achieved by the cooperation of the Federal Government and the Länder on the one hand, and the cooperation of the Länder and higher education institutions on the other, within the framework of the Higher Education Pact 2020.

In this context, the DZHW is to undertake Länder analyses for the German Science and Humanities Council, which will be included in the evaluation of the Higher Education Pact 2020. The methodological basis is formed by extensive document analyses for which, on the one hand, the annual GWK reports on the implementation of the Higher Education Pact are taken into account and, on the other hand, relevant documents provided by the individual Länder, in particular contractual agreements with the higher education institutions (e.g. framework, target and special agreements), information on additional Länder programmes and results of analyses and evaluations in the Länder.

Guiding questions are how forecasts on the development of the number of first-year students were handled, which measures were taken, which intended and non-intended effects were observed, whether conflicts of objectives or other difficulties arose and how these were handled, how the achievement of objectives is assessed and whether different types of countries can be identified, for example with regard to how the funds were passed on, spent and, if necessary, the flow of funds was controlled.

In a first step, an analysis scheme will be created on the basis of the GWK reports, which will then be filled with information from these reports and the Länder materials. As a result, dossiers on the individual Länder and comparative analyses will be compiled and submitted to the German Science and Humanities Council.

Contact person

Susanne In der Smitten
Dr. Susanne In der Smitten

Researchers

Frank Dölle

Länderanalysen im Rahmen der Evaluation des Hochschulpakts durch den Wissenschaftsrat

Projektbeginn: 15.11.2022 - Projektende: 30.09.2023

Bund und Länder haben im Jahr 2007 den Hochschulpakt 2020 beschlossen, um in Zeiten hoher Studiennachfrage für alle Studierwilligen die erforderlichen Kapazitäten an den Hochschulen zu schaffen und abzusichern. Hierzu haben der Bund und die Länder während der Programmlaufzeit des Hochschulpakts von 2007 bis 2020 Mittel in Höhe von rund 34 Mrd. Euro aufgebracht und für die Ausfinanzierung in den Jahren 2021 bis 2023 mindestens 4,5 Mrd. Euro bereitgestellt.

Im Dezember 2021 hat die Gemeinsame Wissenschaftskonferenz (GWK) den Wissenschaftsrat mit einer Ex-Post-Evaluation des Hochschulpakts 2020 beauftragt. Die Evaluation soll eine Bewertung der Zielerreichung, der Wirkung und der Wirtschaftlichkeit des Förderprogramms einschließen. Ziele der Evaluation sind eine Darstellung der Auswirkungen des Hochschulpakts 2020 auf das deutsche Hochschulsystem, Empfehlungen für künftige Bund-Länder-Programme und die Generierung von hochschulpolitischem Handlungswissen für Bund und Länder im Rahmen der jeweiligen verfassungsmäßigen Kompetenzen. Dabei soll auch betrachtet werden, welche Steuerungseffekte von der Zusammenarbeit von Bund und Ländern einerseits, die Zusammenarbeit von Ländern und Hochschulen andererseits im Rahmen des Hochschulpakts 2020 erzielt wurden.

In diesem Kontext erstellt das DZHW für den Wissenschaftsrat Länderanalysen, die in die Evaluation des Hochschulpakts 2020 eingehen sollen. Die methodische Basis bilden umfangreiche Dokumentenanalysen, für die einerseits die jährlichen GWK-Berichte zur Umsetzung des Hochschulpakts berücksichtigen und andererseits Unterlagen, die von den einzelnen Ländern als relevant bereitgestellt wurden, insbesondere vertragsförmige Vereinbarungen mit den Hochschulen (z.B. Rahmen-, Ziel- und Sondervereinbarungen), Informationen über zusätzliche Landesprogramme und Ergebnisse von Analysen und Evaluationen in den Ländern.

Leitende Fragestellung für die Auswertung sind, wie mit Prognosen zur Entwicklung der Zahl von Studienanfängerinnen und -anfängern umgegangen wurde, welche Maßnahmen ergriffen wurden, welche intendierten und nicht-intendierten Wirkungen beobachtet wurden, ob Zielkonflikte und Schwierigkeiten auftraten und wie diese gehandhabt wurden, wie die Zielerreichung beurteilt wird und ob verschiedene Ländertypen herausgearbeitet werden können, etwa mit Blick darauf, wie die Gelder weitergereicht, verausgabt und die Mittelflüsse ggf. kontrolliert wurden.

Dabei wird in einem ersten Schritt auf der Basis der GWK-Berichte ein Analyseraster erstellt, das dann mit Informationen aus diesen Berichten und den Ländermaterialien gefüllt wird. Im Ergebnis sollen Dossiers zu den einzelnen Ländern sowie vergleichende Analysen erstellt und an den Wissenschaftsrat übergeben werden.

Ansprechperson

Susanne In der Smitten
Dr. Susanne In der Smitten

Projektmitarbeit

Frank Dölle