New Data, New Knowledge? Infrastructures of Performance Measurement in Science (NEDA)

Start of the project: 01-Nov-2020 - End of the project: 31-Oct-2023

In cooperation with the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities (BBAW), the BMBF-funded junior research group is investigating the increasing technical possibilities of data production and data assessment of scientific performance and their consequences for the understanding of scientific practice.

Research information and the associated measurement of performance are an important factor in the debate on quality assurance in science. However, the generation of empirically proven knowledge about research performance is ridden with prerequisites. Technical infrastructures are increasingly being used for this purpose - above all by commercial providers - which transform existing data into databases and make instruments available which are intended to generate relevant knowledge for the governance of science.

The project focuses on the development of these "research analytics". It examines the question of which data are used in what ways. The understanding of scientific practice that is inscribed in these continuously developing technical infrastructures of data production and data assessment is analysed.

The project goes beyond a critique of the construction and use of bibliometric databases and their indicators. Instead, it looks at the technical infrastructures of scientific performance measurement as a whole and asks how the data production and usage infrastructures help to shape what can be observed and evaluated as scientific performance.

The project is divided into a qualitative and a quantitative sub-project. In the quantitative sub-project at the German Centre for Higher Education and Science Studies (DZHW), bibliometric analyses are conducted via the infrastructure of the Competence Centre for Bibliometrics to investigate how and in what ways the infrastructures of data providers differ in their statements on scientific performance.

The qualitative sub-project at the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities focuses on the user orientation of the providers of these infrastructures by analysing the particular usage scenarios offered to potential users.

Taken together, the aim of the project is to examine the assumptions made in the databases and corresponding usage instruments about what constitutes scientific performance.

Lead Researcher

Stephan Stahlschmidt
Dr. Stephan Stahlschmidt Lead Researcher +49 30 2064177-18

External Contact

Dr. Anne K. Krüger

Funded by

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

In cooperation with

Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften

Neue Daten, neues Wissen? Infrastrukturen der Leistungsbewertung in der Wissenschaft (NEDA)

Projektbeginn: 01.11.2020 - Projektende: 31.10.2023

Die BMBF-geförderte Nachwuchsgruppe untersucht in Kooperation mit der Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW) die zunehmenden technischen Möglichkeiten der Datenerhebung und -auswertung von wissenschaftlicher Leistung und ihre Folgen für das Verständnis von wissenschaftlicher Praxis.

Forschungsinformation und damit verbundene Leistungsmessung sind ein wichtiger Faktor im Diskurs über Qualitätssicherung in der Wissenschaft. Die Generierung von empirisch gesichertem Wissen über Forschungsleistung ist jedoch voraussetzungsvoll. Genutzt werden dazu zunehmend technische Infrastrukturen – vor allem von kommerziellen Anbietern –, die vorliegende Daten in Datenbanken aufbereiten und Instrumente zur Verfügung stellen, die daraus steuerungsrelevantes Wissen generieren sollen.

Im Mittelpunkt des Projekts steht die Entwicklung dieser „research analytics“. Es geht der Frage nach, welche Daten hier auf welche Weise zur Nutzung bereitgestellt werden und welches Verständnis von wissenschaftlicher Praxis sich auf diese Weise in den kontinuierlich weiterentwickelten technischen Infrastrukturen der Datenerhebung und -auswertung zeigt.

Das Projekt geht dabei über eine Kritik des Aufbaus und Einsatzes von bibliometrischen Datenbanken und ihrer Indikatorik hinaus. Es nimmt stattdessen die technischen Infrastrukturen der wissenschaftlichen Leistungsmessung als Ganzes in den Blick und fragt danach, wie die Datenerhebungs- und -nutzungsinfrastrukturen mitgestalten, was als wissenschaftliche Leistung beobachtet und bewertet werden kann.

Das Projekt erfolgt in einem qualitativ und einem quantitativ ausgerichteten Teilprojekt. In dem quantitativ ausgerichteten Teilprojekt am Deutschen Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung wird aufbauend auf der Infrastruktur des Kompetenzzentrums Bibliometrie mittels bibliometrischer Analysen untersucht, wie und worin sich die Infrastrukturen unterschiedlicher Anbieter in ihren Aussagen über wissenschaftliche Leistung unterscheiden.

In dem qualitativ ausgerichteten Teilprojekt an der Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften liegt der Fokus auf der Nutzerorientierung der Anbieter dieser Infrastrukturen, indem sowohl nach den angebotenen Nutzungsmöglichkeiten als auch nach den angestrebten Nutzer*innen gefragt wird. Zusammengenommen ist es das Ziel des Projekts, die Annahmen, die in den Datenbanken und entsprechenden Nutzungsinstrumenten über das angelegt sind, was wissenschaftliche Leistung darstellt, zu untersuchen.

Projektleitung

Stephan Stahlschmidt
Dr. Stephan Stahlschmidt Projektleitung 030 2064177-18

Externe Ansprechpartner*innen

Dr. Anne K. Krüger

Gefördert von

Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Kooperationspartner

Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften