Phoenix - Authorship revised

Start of the project: 01-Nov-2019 - End of the project: 31-Oct-2022

Principal Investigator: Dr. Cornelia Schendzielorz

INDIVIDUAL PROJECT A: Theory and practice of scientific authorship (DZHW Berlin – Research System and Science Dynamics)
Lead Researcher: Dr. Cornelia Schendzielorz,
Researcher: Felicitas Hesselmann

INDIVIDUAL PROJECT B: Inflationary authorship (Temir - Text Mining and Retrieval Group, Universität Leipzig)
Lead Researcher: Jun.-Prof. Dr. Martin Potthast, https://temir.org/people.html#potthast,
Researcher: Lukas Gienapp

INDIVIDUAL PROJECT C: Tracing authorship styles (Webis - Web Technology & Information Systems Group, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
Lead Researcher: Prof. Dr. Benno Stein, https://www.uni-weimar.de/en/media/chairs/computer-science-department/webis/people/#stein

The project investigates the theory and practice of scientific authorship in the 21st century. Beliefs about authorship are currently subject to a profound change, especially with regard to changed research constellations and collaborative processes in science which shape the conditions of knowledge production. This change can be seen, for example, in the cross-disciplinary increase of co-authorship and mass collaborations when, in physics (for instance of gravitational wave) more than 1000 people are listed as authors in one article. Together with the increasing differentiation of the division of labour in material- and technology-intensive research fields such as life sciences, this is prompting a debate on how the various activities of those involved can be adequately acknowledged in the publications.

In addition to publishing authorship policies, journals, publishers and publication platforms are also testing contribution classifications, which are intended to identify specific contributions to a paper or operate by mentioning names in the acknowledgements. In the course of a progressively differentiated division of labour, the act of writing is sometimes not only divided very differently among co-authors, but in some research fields also delegated to professionalized "scientific writers", who are usually not named as authors. The latter is diametrically opposed to the classical concept of the unity of author and text. These findings indicate that the importance attached to writing varies drastically between disciplines. They also raise questions about the handling of so-called "ghost authors", the partially practiced "guest-" and "gift-authorships" or "honorary authorship".

The aim of the project is to contribute to the empirical research of authorship. Quantitative and qualitative empirical data will be used to investigate how the changed and discipline-specific conditions for the production of scientific knowledge are reflected in authorship: What significance is assigned to authorship in each case? How is authorship negotiated? And what conflicts may be associated with it?

The investigation is complemented by algorithmic authorship analyses by our partners in Weimar (Webis) and Leipzig (Temir) https://webis.de/research/science-studies.html. These techniques make it possible to capture writing styles and inflationary authorship by means of author profiling and analysis of text reuses.

Lead Researcher

Cornelia Schendzielorz
Dr. Cornelia Schendzielorz Lead Researcher +49 30 2093666-27

Researchers

Felicitas Heßelmann

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Funded by

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Phoenix - Autorschaft im Wandel

Verbundprojekt

Projektbeginn: 01.11.2019 - Projektende: 31.10.2022

Verbundleitung: Dr. Cornelia Schendzielorz

TEILPROJEKT A: Theorie und Praxis wissenschaftlicher Autorschaft (DZHW Berlin – Forschungssystem und Wissenschaftsdynamik)
Projektleitung: Dr. Cornelia Schendzielorz,
Projektmitarbeit: Felicitas Hesselmann

TEILPROJEKT B: Inflationäre Autorschaft (Temir - Text Mining and Retrieval Group, Universität Leipzig)
Projektleitung: Jun.-Prof. Dr. Martin Potthast, https://temir.org/people.html#potthast,
Projektmitarbeit: Lukas Gienapp

TEILPROJEKT C: Stilistische Spuren von Autorschaft (Webis - Web Technology & Information Systems Group, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar)
Projektleitung: Prof. Dr. Benno Stein, https://www.uni-weimar.de/en/media/chairs/computer-science-department/webis/people/#stein

Das Verbundprojekt befasst sich mit der Theorie und Praxis der wissenschaftlichen Autorschaft im 21. Jahrhundert. Die Vorstellungen von Autorschaft unterliegen einem tiefgreifenden Wandel, besonders mit Blick auf veränderte Forschungskonstellationen und Kooperationsverhältnisse in der Wissenschaft, welche die Verhältnisse der Wissensproduktion bedingen. Dieser Wandel zeigt sich beispielsweise in der disziplinübergreifenden Zunahme von Koautorschaft und von Massenkollaborationen, wenn bspw. in der Gravitationswellen-Physik über 1000 Personen als Autoren auf einem Artikel aufgeführt werden. Zusammen mit der zunehmenden Ausdifferenzierung der Arbeitsteilung in material- und technologieintensiven Forschungsfeldern wie beispielsweise den Life Sciences entwickelt sich daraus aktuell eine Debatte darüber, wie die verschiedenen Tätigkeiten der Beteiligten in den Publikationen angemessen gewürdigt werden können.

Neben der Autorschaft werden hier auch von Seiten der Fachzeitschriften, Verlage und Publikationsplattformen „Contributions“-Klassifikationen erprobt, die den spezifischen Beitrag zum Paper ausweisen sollen oder aber mit der namentlichen Nennung in der Danksagung bzw. den Acknowledgements operieren. Im Zuge der fortschreitenden Arbeitsteilung wird mitunter auch der Akt des Schreibens nicht nur innerhalb der Koautoren sehr unterschiedliche aufgeteilt, sondern in manchen Forschungsfeldern auch an professionalisierte „Scientific Writer“ delegiert, die üblicher Weise nicht als Autoren genannt sind. Letzteres steht dem klassischen Konzept der Einheit von Autor und Text diametral entgegen. Diese Befunde indizieren, dass je nach Disziplin dem Schreiben eine sehr unterschiedliche Bedeutung beigemessen wird und werfen Fragen nach der Handhabung und dem Umgang mit sogenannten „Ghost Authors“, den teilweise praktizierten „Guest-“ und „Gift-Authorships“ bzw. der „Ehrenautorschaft“ auf.

Ziel des Projektes ist es, einen Beitrag zur empirischen Beforschung von Autorschaft zu leisten. Anhand quantitativer und qualitativer empirischer Daten wird untersucht, in welcher Weise sich die veränderten und disziplinspezifisch variierenden Produktionsverhältnisse wissenschaftlichen Wissens in der Autorschaft widerspiegeln: Welche Bedeutung wird Autorschaft jeweils zugewiesen? Wie wird Autorschaft verhandelt? Und welche Konflikte können damit einhergehen?

Die Untersuchung wird seitens der Verbundpartner in Weimar (Webis) und Leipzig (Temir) durch algorithmische Autorschaftsanalysen komplettiert https://webis.de/research/science-studies.html. Diese Analyseansätze ermöglichen es die Schreibstile und inflationäre Autorschaft mittels Autor-Profiling und der Textwiederverwendungsanalyse zu erfassen.

Projektleitung

Cornelia Schendzielorz
Dr. Cornelia Schendzielorz Projektleitung 030 2093666-27

Projektmitarbeit

Felicitas Heßelmann

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Gefördert von

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung