Function, reception, and performativity of review literature in science (FuReWiRev)

Start of the project: 01-Aug-2018 - End of the project: 31-Jul-2021

Scientific knowledge is a central resource of contemporary societies, which is reflected in a rising demand for ‘more’ and ‘better’ knowledge. But how is such knowledge produced in the first place? From a sociological perspective, an obvious site for studying the production of scientific knowledge is the publication system with all its particularities, such as the practice of peer reviewing. Consequently, much attention has been given to the roles and effects of the scientific research article and the networks emerging from citations between research articles.

Much less attention has been given to the roles and effects of another publication format: the review article. At first sight, a review article merely summarizes the facts others have already established and thus seems to play only a secondary role in the production of knowledge. On a closer look, however, it becomes apparent that the review article is a forceful device. In selecting articles for review and commenting on their research quality and findings, the review shapes our understanding and judgement of ‘the factual’.

Our project focuses on this often-neglected publication format and studies the roles, receptions, and performativity of scientific review literature. We include the consideration of the specific conditions under which scientific knowledge is produced today, i.e. an increasingly economic orientation and the introduction of metrics assessing research performance and quality of research output. This changing research climate, we assume, will have an effect on the way reviews are used and received. Especially in areas where research output is high, reviews will play a key role in providing guidance and deciding what counts as legitimate knowledge. We investigate how reviews are written and read in different fields and disciplines and which roles they play there.

To answer our research questions, we employ and mix different methods: hermeneutic content analyses, expert interviews, citation network analyses, and text mining. The project has a time frame of three years and is financed by the German Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF).

Lead Researcher

Clemens Blümel
Clemens Blümel Lead Researcher +49 30 2064177-31
Arno Simons
Dr. Arno Simons Lead Researcher +49 30 2064177-50

Researchers

Alexander Schniedermann

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Funded by

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

Funktion, Rezeption und Performativität von Reviewliteratur in der Wissenschaft im Kontext Bibliometrie getriebener Anreizstrukturen (FuReWiRev)

Projektbeginn: 01.08.2018 - Projektende: 31.07.2021

Die Produktion wissenschaftlichen Wissens ist ein zentraler Motor gegenwärtiger Gesellschaften, was sich unter anderem an dem Ruf nach immer ‘mehr, und ‘besserem’ Wissen ablesen lässt. Doch wie entsteht gesichertes Wissen eigentlich? Zur Beantwortung dieser Frage hat sich die Wissenschaftsforschung umfangreich mit der Rolle und Bedeutung des wissenschaftlichen Forschungsartikels und der sich aus gegenseitigen Verweisen ergebenden Zitationsnetzwerke auseinandergesetzt.

Weitgehend unbeachtet blieb bisher jedoch der wissenschaftliche Überblicksartikel (review article) als weiteres Publikationsformat. Auf den ersten Blick fasst ein Überblicksartikel lediglich zusammen, was anderswo bereits publiziert wurde, und erscheint daher für die Produktion wissenschaftlichen Wissens als eher zweitrangig. Auf den zweiten Blick wird hingegen deutlich, dass dem Überblicksartikel eine entscheidende Gatekeeper- und Katalysatorfunktion zukommt, indem er gesichertes von ungesichertem Wissen trennt, bzw. überhaupt erst festlegt, was als gesichertes Wissen gelten soll und was nicht.

Unser Forschungsprojekt widmet sich speziell diesem Publikationsformat und fragt nach der Funktion, Rezeption und Performativität von Reviewliteratur in der Wissenschaft. Hierbei beachten wir auch den speziellen Kontext, in dem Wissenschaft heute zunehmend stattfindet, nämlich geprägt durch Versuche der effizienten ‚ökonomisierten‘ Steuerung unter Einführung neuer Metriken zur Vermessung von Forschungsqualität. Die Bedeutung von Reviews kann sich in diesem Kontext aufgrund der Rückwirkungen von bibliometrischen Metriken und Indizes ändern. In diesem Projekt werden daher nicht nur die unterschiedlichen Typen und Formen von Reviews feldvergleichend untersucht, sondern es werden auch die Anpassungseffekte dieser Metriken auf die Publikation und Vergabe von Reviews durch Herausgeber und Verleger genauer erforscht.

Zur Untersuchung dieser Forschungsfragen kommen unterschiedliche Methoden aus der qualitativen und quantitativen Sozialforschung, insbesondere Inhaltsanalysen, Experteninterviews, Zitationsnetzwerkanalysen und Textmining zur Anwendung. Das Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren und wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) finanziert.

Projektleitung

Clemens Blümel
Clemens Blümel Projektleitung 030 2064177-31
Arno Simons
Dr. Arno Simons Projektleitung 030 2064177-50

Projektmitarbeit

Alexander Schniedermann

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich