Career decisions and career paths of doctorate holders – on the multifunctionality of the doctoral degree (BuWiN 2021)

Start of the project: 01-Dec-2018 - End of the project: 30-Nov-2019

The project “Career decisions and career paths of doctorate holders – on the multifunctionality of the doctoral degree” is being developed by the DZHW and INCHER-Kassel as part of the National Report on Junior Scholars (BuWiN) 2021. Career decisions of doctoral candidates and doctorate holders as well as those of doctorate holders with a post-doctoral lecturer qualification (habilitation) are analysed drawing on several data resources. Within the project’s framework the DZHW aims at answering the following questions:

  • Who attempts to gain a doctoral degree?
  • Who attempts to gain a doctoral degree? Which career paths are taken up after doctoral graduation?
  • Who remains in the scientific field?

To answer these questions, insights from existing research will be systemised and new analyses developed, drawing on graduate studies and surveys among doctorate holders conducted by the DZHW. These series of studies provide representative data with large numbers of cases as well as long-running series and evaluation periods. Hence it is possible to explore determinants of career preferences and career paths, occupational progression after receiving a doctoral degree, and the employment situation of HEI graduates with and without a doctoral degree.

The National Report on Junior Scholars (BuWiN) collects statistical data and recent research evidence on scientific qualification processes, career paths, conditions of employment and professional perspectives of junior researchers in Germany, making it an important basis for discussion and further development of the political and legal framework for young researchers in Germany. BuWiN 2021 is being prepared by an independent consortium, led by the Institute for Innovation and Technology (iit) as part of VDI/VDE Innovation + Technik.

Show more Show less

Lead Researcher

Kolja Briedis
Dr. Kolja Briedis Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-132

Researchers

Fine Cordua Hendrik Schirmer

External Contact

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

In cooperation with

Institut für Innovation und Technik International Centre for Higher Education Research

Karriereentscheidungen und Karriereverläufe Promovierter

Zur Multifunktionalität der Promotion (BuWiN 2021)

Projektbeginn: 01.12.2018 - Projektende: 30.11.2019

Im Projekt „Karriereentscheidungen und Karriereverläufe Promovierter – zur Multifunktionalität der Promotion“ arbeitet das DZHW zusammen mit dem INCHER-Kassel an einer Begleitstudie zum Bundesbericht Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs 2021. Auf Basis verschiedener Datenbestände werden die Karriereentscheidungen von Promovierenden bzw. Promovierten sowie die Karriereverläufe und Rekrutierungsmuster Promovierter und Habilitierter untersucht. Im Rahmen der Begleitstudie übernimmt das DZHW die Arbeit an folgenden Fragestellungen:

  • Wer nimmt eine Promotion auf?
  • Wie gestaltet sich der Verbleib nach der Promotion? Wer verbleibt in der Wissenschaft?
  • Wie sind die Erträge einer Promotion?

Neben der systematischen Aufarbeitung bisheriger Forschungserkenntnisse werden zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen eigene Auswertungen anhand der Absolventen- und Promoviertenbefragungen des DZHW durchgeführt. Diese Untersuchungsreihen bieten aufgrund der verfügbaren Zeitreihen, der langen Untersuchungszeiträume sowie der bundesweiten Repräsentativität der Daten bei großer Fallzahl Möglichkeiten, die Determinanten der beruflichen Präferenzen und des Verbleibs Promovierter, die Beschäftigungsverläufe nach Abschluss der Promotion sowie die Beschäftigungssituation von Hochschulabsolventinnen und -absolventen mit und ohne Promotion differenziert zu betrachten.

Der Bundesbericht Wissenschaftlicher Nachwuchs (BuWiN) enthält statistische Daten und aktuelle Forschungsbefunde zur wissenschaftlichen Qualifizierung, zu Karrierewegen, Beschäftigungsbedingungen und beruflichen Perspektiven für Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und -wissenschaftler in Deutschland. Er bildet damit eine wichtige Grundlage für die Diskussion und Weiterentwicklung der politischen und gesetzlichen Rahmenbedingungen für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs. An der Erstellung des BuWiN 2021 arbeitet ein unabhängiges wissenschaftliches Konsortium unter der Leitung des Instituts für Instituts für Innovation und Technik (iit) in der VDI/VDE-IT.

Projektleitung

Kolja Briedis
Dr. Kolja Briedis Projektleitung 0511 450670-132

Projektmitarbeit

Fine Cordua Hendrik Schirmer

Externe Ansprechpartner*innen


Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Kooperationspartner

Institut für Innovation und Technik International Centre for Higher Education Research