BMBF data portal on education and research

Start of the project: 16-Sept-2017 - End of the project: 15-Aug-2020

At www.datenportal.bmbf.de, the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) provides access to very comprehensive statistical data relating to education and research. The portal incorporates data of the "Federal Report on Research and Innovation" (BuFI) and the former publication series "Basic and Structural Data" as well as additional data from other sources. The portal is also the source for the annual BMBF publication Education and Research in Figures, which is prepared and laid out by our research unit. However, printed publications are only a small part of the portal’s resources; in most cases, it provides long time-series, some of which go back as far as the 1960s.

This data is provided for decision-makers and researchers in the fields of politics, administration, science and the economy, but also for interested members of the public. The portal currently enjoys an average of 100 to 150 visitors on a typical working day. A large proportion of the inquiries come from people working in the scientific field. The data are provided as barrier-free HTML tables, PDF tables for printing, in Excel format for spreadsheet calculations and in the open format CSV. All data is furnished with an open licence as far as permitted by the sources. In addition, large numbers of graphs can be found in the portal. The data can be researched simply by navigating the topic structure or using a key word search.

The data in the portal are organised into four topic areas:

  • General overviews and structural data
  • Research and innovation
  • Education
  • International comparison

The overviews and structural data contain key figures that are intended to provide better appraisals and improved comprehension of data provided in the following topic areas. This section covers figures on population, school and university students, the employed and unemployed, gross domestic product and value creation, and public expenditure on education and research, both for Germany as a whole and categorised by federal state. The research and innovation topic area include facts on expenditure on science, research and development, on public expenditure on science, on expenditure by the business enterprise sector on R&D and teaching, on R&D personnel, and on innovations and patents. The education section includes educational funding, pre-primary education, schools, vocational education, higher education, continuing education and governmental training assistance (BaföG, AFBG student loans). Finally, the international comparison section provides figures from all the above-mentioned topic areas along with an orientation aid so that Germany can be ranked in the international context.

Since 2010 the research area "Research Infrastructure and Methods" runs the technical side of the portal and ensures that the content is up to date.

Lead Researcher

Hans Dicken
Hans Dicken Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-412

Researchers

Franziska Debes Helena Kopp Viktor Skladovs

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Project website

http://www.datenportal.bmbf.de/portal/en/index.html

Employer/client

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung

BMBF-Datenportal zu Bildung und Forschung

Projektbeginn: 16.09.2017 - Projektende: 15.08.2020

Unter www.datenportal.bmbf.de findet sich ein sehr umfassendes Angebot an statistischen Daten im Umfeld von Bildung und Forschung. Das Portal führt die frühere Publikation "Grund- und Strukturdaten" und den "Bundesbericht Forschung und Innovation" (BUFI) zusammen, ergänzt um weitere Daten aus anderen Quellen. Aus dem Portal speist sich auch die jährliche BMBF-Publikation "Bildung und Forschung in Zahlen", die von der Abteilung erzeugt und layoutet wird. Die Printveröffentlichungen stellen aber nur einen kleinen Auszug aus dem Portal dar, das in den meisten Fällen lange Zeitreihen beinhaltet, diese reichen teilweise bis in die 1960er Jahre zurück.

Das Angebot richtet sich an Entscheidungsträger und Forscher aus Politik, Verwaltung, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft, ebenso aber auch an die interessierte Öffentlichkeit. Das Portal hat an typischen Werktagen derzeit durchschnittlich 100 bis 150 Besucher. Ein Großteil der Anfragen kommt aus dem Bereich der Wissenschaft. Die gewünschten Daten liegen vor als barrierefreie HTML-Tabellen, als PDF-Tabellen zum Ausdrucken oder in CSV und XLS-Format zur Weiterverarbeitung. Alle Daten sind so weit offen lizenziert, wie es die Quellen zulassen. Zusätzlich sind zahlreiche Graphiken im Portal zu finden. Recherchiert werden können die Daten auf einfache Weise durch Navigation in der thematischen Gliederung oder mit Hilfe einer Schlagwortsuche.

Die Daten im Portal sind in vier Themenbereiche untergliedert:

  • 0 Gesamtübersichten und Strukturdaten
  • 1 Forschung und Innovation
  • 2 Bildung
  • 3 Internationaler Vergleich

Die Gesamtübersichten und Strukturdaten beinhalten Kennzahlen, die zur besseren Einschätzung und zum besseren Verständnis der in den nachfolgenden Themenbereichen gebotenen Daten dienen sollen. Hier finden sich für ganz Deutschland oder nach Ländern gegliederte Zahlen zur Bevölkerung, zu Schüler/-innen und Studierenden, Erwerbspersonen und Arbeitslosen, Bruttoinlandsprodukt und Wertschöpfung und zu öffentlichen Ausgaben für Bildung und Forschung. Der Themenbereich Forschung und Innovation beinhaltet Fakten zu den Ausgaben für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Entwicklung, zur öffentlichen Finanzierung der Wissenschaft, zu den Aufwendungen der Wirtschaft für Forschung und Entwicklung sowie für Lehre, zum in Forschung und Entwicklung tätigen Personal sowie zu Innovationen und Patenten. Der Bereich Bildung umfasst die Bildungsfinanzen, den Elementarbereich, Schulen, berufliche Bildung, Hochschulen, Weiterbildung und die staatliche Förderung im Bildungsbereich (BAföG, AFBG). Der internationale Vergleich schließlich liefert mit Zahlen aus allen vorgenannten Themenbereichen eine Orientierungshilfe, um die Stellung Deutschlands einordnen zu können.

Die Abteilung Infrastruktur und Methoden betreibt das BMBF-Datenportal seit dem Jahr 2010 technisch und inhaltlich.

Mehr erfahren Weniger anzeigen

Projektleitung

Hans Dicken
Hans Dicken Projektleitung 0511 450670-412

Projektmitarbeit

Franziska Debes Helena Kopp Viktor Skladovs

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Projektwebsite

http://www.datenportal.bmbf.de

Auftraggeber

Bundeministerium für Bildung und Forschung