Colleges of Music Benchmarking Club

Start of the project: 01-Nov-2011

Seven to eight colleges of music participate at any one time in the Colleges of Music Benchmarking Club that was set up in 2011. The Club aims to provide solutions for relevant strategic issues through systematic comparison and continuous exchange. Over this period, there has been some variation in membership; currently the following universities and colleges of music are involved:

  • Hanns Eisler School of Music Berlin
  • Detmold University of Music
  • Folkwang University of the Arts Essen
  • Frankfurt University of Music and Performing Arts
  • Hanover University of Music, Drama and Media
  • Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln (Cologne)
  • University of Music and Theatre “Felix Mendelsohn Bartholdy” Leipzig

The higher education institutions involved hold a series of workshops to cover relevant topic fields through systematic comparison. In addition to the university chancellors, representatives from the artistic/academic side and from the administration are involved to ensure the inclusion of a wide range of views. The expressed aim is to apply the findings gained in the workshop in the colleges’ actual practice, thus achieving sustainable improvements in their steering processes.

Focus topics so far have included Quality Management, Part-time Teaching, Appointment Procedures, Applications and Admissions, and Events. The workshops examine the special features of each college of music and the specific impact on profiling and quality development at the colleges. The workshop series 2013 on appointments procedures produced a paper of recommendations on carrying out appointment procedures at colleges of music.

The project will continue with the next topic to be covered: budgeting at universities and colleges of music.

The DZHW’s research unit Indicator Systems and Resources collaborates with the HIS Institut für Hochschulentwicklung e.V. (HIS-HE) to provide support in preparing methodology and content for the Benchmarking Club.

Lead Researcher

Frank Dölle
Frank Dölle Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-349

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Benchmarking-Club Musikhochschulen

Projektbeginn: 01.11.2011

Am Benchmarking-Club Musikhochschulen beteiligen seit 2011 sich in teilweise leicht wechselnder Zusammensetzung sieben bis acht Hochschulen, mit dem Ziel, relevante strategische Fragestellungen in Form eines systematischen Vergleichs und kontinuierlichen Austauschs zu beantworten. Folgende Hochschulen sind derzeit beteiligt:

  • Hochschule für Musik "Hanns Eisler" Berlin
  • Hochschule für Musik Detmold
  • Folkwang Universität der Künste Essen
  • Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt
  • Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien Hannover
  • Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln
  • Hochschule für Musik und Theater „Felix Mendelsohn Bartholdy“ Leipzig

Die Hochschulen bearbeiten in mehrteiligen Workshop-Reihen relevante Themenfelder in Form eines systematischen Vergleichs. Neben den Kanzlerinnen und Kanzlern sind auch Personen Vertreter(innen) aus dem künstlerisch-wissenschaftlichen Bereich und der Verwaltung einbezogen, um eine breite, umfassende Perspektive zu ermöglichen. Ausdrückliches Ziel ist es, die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse in die Handlungspraxis der Hochschulen zu überführen und damit deren Steuerungsprozesse nachhaltig zu verbessern.

Bisherige Schwerpunktthemen waren "Qualitätsmanagement", "nebenberufliche Lehre", Berufungsverfahren““, „Bewerbung und Zulassung“ sowie “Veranstaltungen“. Hierbei wurden jeweils Besonderheiten der Musikhochschulen sowie die spezifische Bedeutung für Profilierung und Qualitätsentwicklung an Musikhochschulen in den Blick genommen. Aus der Workshop-Reihe 2013 zum Thema „Berufungsverfahren“ ist ein Empfehlungspapier zur Durchführung von Berufungsverfahren an Musikhochschulen entstanden.

Das Projekt wird mit dem Thema „Budgetierung an Musikhochschulen“ fortgesetzt.

Bei der methodischen und inhaltlichen Unterstützung des Benchmarking-Clubs kooperiert der Arbeitsbereich Kennzahlensysteme und Ressourcen des DZHW mit dem HIS-Institut für Hochschulentwicklung e. V. (HIS-HE).

Mehr erfahren Weniger anzeigen

Projektleitung

Frank Dölle
Frank Dölle Projektleitung 0511 450670-349

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich