Print Logo

Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Search in: Website  Publications

DZHW  >  About the DZHW

About the DZHW

About the DZHW



Seitennavigation

Research to help shape higher educational institutions and policy

The German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW GmbH) carries out application-oriented empirical research in the field of higher education and the science system. It sees itself as a partner and service-provider for the world of science and scientific policy. Its research is theory-based and practice-related. The DZHW contributes its research findings to academic discourse; it is part of the scientific community. The data and analyses produced by the DZHW also support policy-makers, higher education institutions and educational management in shaping higher education in Germany and Europe. It provides important information for comprehensive, sustainable, evidence-based higher educational and educational policy.

The DZHW's four Research Areas cover the following tasks and research fields: the centre's mission is to carry out research projects and collect data in higher education research and science studies in accordance with scientific quality standards. Its profile is defined by its long-term studies, unique in Germany, of those qualified to study at university, first-year students, students and university graduates; it also covers scientific examination of the internationalisation processes in the German higher education system, life-long learning and the steering and funding of higher education institutions. This spectrum is expanded to include analyses and information about the German and international higher education and scientific system, focusing in particular on bibliometrics. The Centre also provides research–based services for higher education and science policy on this basis. Another of the DZHW’s tasks is to provide research infrastructure: a research data centre for German higher education research and science studies is being created in the DZHW, making the Centre’s data and that of other data-collecting institutions available to researchers.

The DZHW collaborates closely with Leibniz Universität Hannover on the Master's programme Science and Society, educating young scientists for higher education research and science studies, and with Humboldt Universität zu Berlin. In addition to its main office in Hannover, the DZHW has branches at Universität Leipzig and in Berlin.

The Federal Government and the Federal States of Germany are partners in the DZHW. The DZHW was founded in August 2013 and was admitted to joint funding in accordance with Article 91 b of the German constitution. The DZHW emerged from the HIS Institute for Higher Education Research (HIS-HF) of the Hochschul-Informations-System GmbH. In early 2016, the Institut für Forschungsinformation und Qualitätssicherung e.V. (iFQ, Berlin) became part of the DZHW and continues its work in Berlin as Research Area 2 Research System and Science Dynamics.

You can find out more about our work in our annual reports.

http://www.dzhw.eu/en/gmbh/index_html
© Copyright 2017 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, fon: +49 511 450670-532, fax: +49 511 450670-960, E-Mail:

Print Logo

DZHW  >  Über das DZHW

Über das DZHW

Über das DZHW



Seitennavigation

Forschungsbasiertes Gestaltungswissen
für Hochschule und Politik

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung (DZHW GmbH) betreibt anwendungsorientierte empirische Forschung im Bereich des Hochschul- und Wissenschaftssystems. Es versteht sich als Partner und Dienstleister der Wissenschaft sowie der Wissenschaftspolitik. Daher ist seine Forschung theoriegeleitet und praxisbezogen. Das DZHW bringt die Ergebnisse seiner Forschung in den wissenschaftlichen Diskurs ein, ist Teil der Scientific Community. Darüber hinaus unterstützt das DZHW mit seinen Daten und Analysen Politik, Hochschulen und Bildungsadministration bei der Gestaltung der hochschulischen Bildung in Deutschland und Europa. Es liefert wichtige Informationen für eine umfassende und nachhaltige evidenzbasierte Hochschul- und Bildungspolitik.

Das DZHW widmet sich in seinen vier Fachabteilungen den folgenden Aufgaben und Forschungsfeldern: Das Zentrum hat den Auftrag, Forschungsvorhaben und Datenerhebungen nach wissenschaftlichen Qualitätsstandards in der Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung durchzuführen. Profilbildend sind seine deutschlandweit einzigartigen Langzeitstudien zu Studienberechtigten, Studienanfänger(inne)n, Studierenden und Hochschulabsolvent(inn)en sowie seine wissenschaftlichen Untersuchungen zu Prozessen der Internationalisierung des deutschen Hochschulsystems, des lebenslangen Lernens und der Hochschulsteuerung und -finanzierung. Erweitert wird dieses Spektrum um Analysen und Informationen über das deutsche und internationale Forschungs- und Wissenschaftssystem, insbesondere mit dem Schwerpunkt Bibliometrie. Zusätzlich erbringt das Zentrum auf diesen Grundlagen forschungsbasierte Dienstleistungen für die Hochschul- und Wissenschaftspolitik. Aufgabe des DZHW ist zudem die Bereitstellung von Forschungsinfrastruktur: Im DZHW entsteht ein Forschungsdatenzentrum für die deutsche Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung, das die Daten des Zentrums und anderer datenerhebender Einrichtungen für die Forschung verfügbar macht.

Enge Kooperationen bestehen mit der Leibniz Universität Hannover, mit der das DZHW gemeinsam den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs für die Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung im Masterstudiengang "Wissenschaft und Gesellschaft" ausbildet, sowie mit der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. Neben seinem Hauptsitz in Hannover ist das DZHW in Außenstellen an der Universität Leipzig sowie in Berlin zu finden.

Gesellschafter des DZHW sind der Bund und die Länder. Das DZHW wurde mit seiner Gründung im August 2013 in die gemeinsame Förderung nach Art. 91 b Grundgesetz aufgenommen. Es ist aus dem HIS-Institut für Hochschulforschung (HIS-HF) der HIS Hochschul-Informations-System GmbH entstanden. Mit dem Beginn des Jahres 2016 ist auch das Institut für Forschungsinformation und Qualitätssicherung e.V. (iFQ, Berlin) Teil des DZHW und setzt seine Arbeit als Abteilung 2 „Forschungssystem und Wissenschaftsdynamik“ in Berlin fort.

Über unsere Arbeit im vorausgangenen Jahr können Sie sich in unserem Jahresbericht 2015 informieren.

http://www.dzhw.eu/gmbh/index_html
© Copyright 2017 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, Tel.: 0511 450670-532, Fax: 0511 450670-960, E-Mail: