Reflexive Bibliometrics

Start of the project: 01-Apr-2017 - End of the project: 31-Mar-2019

The project “reflexive bibliometrics” explores to what extend indicator-based evaluation of research performance leads to adaptive behavior of affected actors. The main focus is on the performativity of new metrics and on its influence on the practices of value attribution of researchers. Therefore the project links to current debates surrounding altmetrics as alternative measurements and evaluation tools for performance assessment in science beyond citation indices.

Academic social networking sites are a particularly interesting case in this context. They measure the activities of users on the platform, showcase them in form of a score for all users to see, and suggest interpreting this score as a scientific performance indicator. Here we can observe and examine instances of comparative evaluation by users induced by the provider of the platform. Academic social networking sites have established a new (e)valuation procedure by including the sharing of scientific content and connecting with other actors of the scientific community to the previously (publication) output-dominated dimensions of research performance assessment on a personal level. At the same time these new value regimes seem to aim directly at more user-platform interaction.

Aim of the project is to analyze the performativity of platform-specific metrics in the context of performance evaluation of researchers. How users interact with the platform will be explored, as well as the influence of this interaction on evaluation of scientific performance and thus on scientific knowledge production.

In doing so the project connects current discussions regarding altmetrics to the sociology of (e)valuation, research on the quantified self, and the sociology of platforms.

Reflexive Bibliometrie

Projektbeginn: 01.04.2017 - Projektende: 31.03.2019

Das Projekt "Reflexive Bibliometrie" untersucht, inwieweit Leistungsbewertung und Indikatorik von Forschung zu Anpassungsprozessen im Verhalten der betroffenen Akteur*innen führen. Im Fokus steht die Performativität von neuen Metriken und der Einfluss auf die Wertzuschreibungspraktiken von Forscher*innen. Damit knüpft das Projekt an aktuelle Diskussionen um „altmetrics“ als alternative Messung und Bewertung von Leistung in der Wissenschaft jenseits von Zitationsindices an.

Als besonders interessanten Fall untersucht das Projekt akademisch orientierte Social Media Plattformen. Diese Plattformen zeichnen sich dadurch aus, dass die Aktivitäten auf den Plattformen selbst gemessen und für alle Nutzer*innen sichtbar mit einem Score versehen und als wissenschaftliche Leistung bewertet werden. Hier können also Momente der vergleichenden Bewertung durch die Nutzer*innen identifiziert und begutachtet werden. Akademische Social Media Plattformen haben ein neues Bewertungsverfahren etabliert, da sie neben dem eigentlichen Publikationsoutput das Teilen wissenschaftlicher Inhalte und das Vernetztsein innerhalb der scientific community mit in die personengebundene wissenschaftliche Leistungsbewertung aufnehmen. Gleichzeitig zielen diese neuen Wertordnungen scheinbar direkt auf Interaktion der Nutzer*innen mit der Plattform.

Ziel des Projekts ist es, die Performativität der plattformspezifischen Metriken in der Leistungsbewertung von Forscher*innen zu analysieren. Einerseits wird untersucht, wie die Nutzer*innen mit der Plattform interagieren, andererseits liegt der Fokus darauf, wie sich die Aktivitäten auf die Bewertung von wissenschaftlicher Leistung und damit auf die wissenschaftliche Wissensproduktion auswirken.

Somit integriert das Projekt aktuelle Diskussionen um Altmetrics mit Ansätzen einer Soziologie des Wertens und Bewertens sowie Forschung zum quantifizierten Selbst und der Plattformsoziologie.

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich