Higher Education Institution Performance Measurement System Lower Saxony

Start of the project: 15-Jun-2012 - End of the project: 30-Sept-2017

Lower Saxony's Higher Education Institution Performance Measurement System (HKS) gives the Lower Saxony Ministry of Science and Culture (MWK) more clarity in identifying the relationship between the performance-related funding allocation by the federal state to the HEIs and internal HEI funding allocation. The HKS is an internet portal that aims to increase transparency relating to the HEI performance parameters applied in the funding allocation system. The core of the HEI Performance Measurement System is the disclosure of these performance data at the level of teaching and research units (LFE).

Performance data for the performance-related funding allocation at the federal state / HEI level are only available in highly aggregated form for the three main subject groups (humanities and social sciences, natural sciences and engineering sciences). Representing the performance parameters in the HEI Performance Measurement System at LFE level increases both transparency and data validity, thus also raising acceptance of the funding allocation system.

The core feature in presenting the findings are special graphs which quickly reveal where profits or losses of performance-related funding have occurred within the HEI and on the basis of what parameters this occurred. The HKS can give the impetus to prompt more effective on-the-spot use of the incentives set by the federal state’s formula. Representing the findings at teaching and research unit level gives the HEIs the chance to carry out a subject-related analysis of strengths and weaknesses.

Because the performance parameters are differentiated to comply with the formula, they are presented as three-yearly averages and supplemented by comprehensive tables. The HKS portal also gives the results of HEIs which do not currently participate in funding allocation via the federal state's formula.

The DZHW supports the MWK Lower Saxony in the installation, maintenance and expansion of the portal. The main findings are also summarised in brief reports for the individual HEIs. This collaboration has operated since 2008 and is initially scheduled to continue up to 2017. The portal will then be expanded to include the results of the capacity calculations and area data, making the information basis even more comprehensive.

The project work is carried out in collaboration by the DZHW's research unit Indicator Systems and Resources and the research area Research Infrastructure and Methods.

Lead Researcher

Frank Dölle
Frank Dölle Lead Researcher +49 511 450670-349

Researchers

Viktor Dick Johanna Funke

Press contact

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes +49 511 450670-532
To press section

Employer/client

Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur

Hochschulkennzahlensystem Niedersachsen

Projektbeginn: 15.06.2012 - Projektende: 30.09.2017

Das Hochschulkennzahlensystem (HKS) Niedersachsen übernimmt für das Niedersächsische Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur (MWK) eine Scharnierfunktion zwischen der Leistungsbezogenen Mittelzuweisung des Landes an die Hochschulen und der hochschulinternen Mittelverteilung. Bei dem HKS handelt es sich um ein Internet-Portal, mit dem die erforderliche Transparenz zu den in die Mittelverteilung eingehenden Leistungsparametern in den Hochschulen erhöht werden soll. Kernstück des Hochschulkennzahlensystems ist der Ausweis dieser Leistungsdaten auf der Ebene der Lehr- und Forschungseinheiten (LFE).

Für die Leistungsbezogene Mittelvergabe auf der Ebene Land - Hochschule liegen die eingehenden Leistungsdaten nur in stark aggregierter Form für die drei Formelfächergruppen (Geistes- und Gesellschaftswissenschaften, Naturwissenschaften und Ingenieurwissenschaften) vor. Die Abbildung der Leistungsparameter im Hochschulkennzahlensystem auf der Ebene der LFE erhöht neben der Transparenz auch die Datenvalidität und damit die Akzeptanz des Mittelvergabesystems.

Kern der Ergebnisdarstellung sind spezielle Grafiken, die schnell erkennbar werden lassen, wo innerhalb der Hochschule auf Basis welcher Parameter Gewinne oder Verluste aus der Leistungsbezogenen Finanzierung entstanden sind. Die durch die Landesformel gesetzten Anreize können in Form von Steuerungsimpulsen durch das HKS vor Ort besser wirksam werden. Der Ausweis der Ergebnisse auf der Ebene der Lehr- und Forschungseinheiten gibt den Hochschulen die Möglichkeit, eine fachbezogene Stärken- und Schwächenanalyse vorzunehmen.

Aufgrund der "formeladäquaten" Abgrenzung der Leistungsparameter werden diese als Drei-Jahres-Durchschnitte präsentiert und durch umfangreiche tabellarische Darstellungen ergänzt. Im HKS-Portal sind auch die Ergebnisse von Hochschulen aufgeführt, die bisher nicht an der Finanzierung über die Landesformel beteiligt sind.

Das DZHW unterstützt das MWK Niedersachsen beim Aufbau, der Pflege sowie der Erweiterung des Portals. Die wesentlichen Ergebnisse werden zusätzlich in kurzen Ergebnisberichten für die einzelnen Hochschulen zusammengefasst. Die seit dem Jahr 2008 laufende Zusammenarbeit wird zunächst bis zum Jahr 2017 fortgesetzt. Das Portal wird dann zusätzlich um Ergebnisse der Kapazitätsberechnung sowie um Flächendaten ergänzt, so dass die Informationsbasis noch umfassender wird.

Die Projektarbeiten werden beim DZHW durch Zusammenarbeit des Arbeitsbereichs "Kennzahlensysteme und Ressourcen" sowie der Abteilung "Infrastruktur und Methoden" erbracht.

Projektleitung

Frank Dölle
Frank Dölle Projektleitung 0511 450670-349

Projektmitarbeit

Viktor Dick Johanna Funke

Pressekontakt

Daniel Matthes
Daniel Matthes 0511 450670-532
Zum Pressebereich

Auftraggeber

Niedersächsisches Ministerium für Wissenschaft und Kultur