Print Logo

Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Search in: Website  Publications

DZHW  >  Research  >  Research cluster

Research – Research cluster

Research – Research cluster



Seitennavigation

Evaluation Practices in Science and Higher Education

Evaluation practices take centre stage in science because continuous assessments of scientific quality guarantee science's claim to produce universally accepted knowledge. Scientific knowledge production has therefore always depended on measures of quality assurance conducted by the scientific community itself, rather than relying on external assessments (Hirschauer 2004; Hirschauer 2005; Lamont 2009; Reinhart 2012; Pontille and Torny 2015). Though peer review has received a fair share of criticism (Reinhart 2012: 49ff.), it has nonetheless been recognized as the gold standard of scientific quality assessment (Weingart 2001: 284ff.).

Yet scientific peer review is not as homogenous as the debates about it might suggest. First, peer review features in a number of different contexts, including manuscript selections at journals, funding decisions, university appointment committees, evaluations of university performance, or on academic social media platforms. Second, procedures may vary considerably within these contexts: for instance, in regard to reviewer selection, to the (technological) infrastructure used, to the indicators or metrics that are applied, or even regarding different regimes of visibility of reviewers and reviewees.

In the light of such a diversity of evaluation procedures we want to tackle the question of how scientific quality assurance is interpreted and practised across different situations and contexts by looking at (1) the practical organization of evaluation procedures in science and higher education, (2) the conceptions of scientific quality implied in these procedures and (3) the resulting consequences for scientific knowledge production.

In doing so, we employ approaches from the sociology of valuation and evaluation (Lamont 2012): this "booming field" (Meer and Lamont 2016: 8) addresses questions such as how the value of material and immaterial goods, specific practices and routine actions, as well as individuals' performance or characteristics, is determined in the context of different orders of worth (Boltanski and Thévenot 2006), or through comparison (Heintz 2017) with each other or with a commonly accepted norm (Krüger and Reinhart 2016). The current research perspective of a sociology of valuation and evaluation thereby offers a wide range of linkages to recent literature about evaluation practices in science and higher education, such as university rankings (Espeland and Sauder 2007), and the underlying measurement of scientific performance (Rushforth and De Rijcke 2015; De Rijcke et al. 2016), or the valuation of specific procedures and evaluative categories in peer review processes (Lamont 2009, Reinhart 2012). In addition, it offers approaches to contributing to the existing literature by explicitly focusing on crucial practices, situations and (technological) infrastructures of value attribution and value assessment, as well as on underlying orders of worth and their reflection by the actors themselves (Krüger and Reinhart 2017).

Sources

  • Boltanski, L., & Thévenot, L. (1999). The Sociology of Critical Capacity. European Journal of Social Theory 2 (3), S. 359–377.
  • De Rijcke, S., Wouters, P., Rushforth, A., Franssen, T., & Hammarfelt, B. (2016). Evaluation practices and effects of indicator use - a literature review. Research Evaluation 25 (2), S. 161–169.
  • Espeland, W., & Sauder, M. (2007). Rankings and Reactivity: How Public Measures Recreate Social Worlds. American Journal of Sociology 113 (1), S. 1–40.
  • Heintz, B (2016) "Wir leben im Zeitalter der Vergleichung". Perspektiven einer Soziologie des Vergleichs Zeitschrift für Soziologie 45 (5), S. 305–323.
  • Hirschauer, S. (2004). Peer Review Verfahren auf dem Prüfstand. Zum Soziologiedefizit der Wissenschaftsevaluation Zeitschrift für Soziologie 33 (1), S. 62–83.
  • Hirschauer, S. (2005). Publizierte Fachurteile. Lektüre und Bewertungspraxis im Peer Review. Soziale Systeme 11 (1), S. 52–82.
  • Krüger, A., & Reinhart, M. (2016). Wert, Werte und (Be)Wertungen. Eine erste begriffs- und prozesstheoretische Sondierung der aktuellen Soziologie der Bewertung. Berliner Journal für Soziologie 26 (3-4), S. 485–500.
  • Krüger, A., & Reinhart, . (2017). Theories of Valuation. Building Blocks for Conceptualizing Valuation between Practice and Structure. In Krenn, K. (Hrsg.), Markets and Classifications. Special Issue. Historical Social Research 42 (1), S. 263–285.
  • Lamont, M. (2009). How professors think. Inside the curious world of academic judgment. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press.
  • Lamont, M. (2012). Toward a Comparative Sociology of Valuation and Evaluation. Annual Review of Sociology 38 (1), S. 201–221.
  • Meer, N. & Lamont, M. (2016). Michèle Lamont: A Portrait of a Capacious Sociologist. Sociology 50 (5), S. 1012–1022.
  • Pontille, D., & Torny, D. (2015). From Manuscript Evaluation to Article Valuation. The Changing Technologies of Journal Peer Review. >em>Human Studies (38), S. 57–79.
  • Reinhart, M. (2012). Soziologie und Epistemologie des Peer Review. Baden-Baden: Nomos.
  • Rushforth, A., & De Rijcke, S. (2015). Accounting for Impact? The Journal Impact Factor and the Making of Biomedical Research in the Netherlands. Minerva 53 (2), S. 117–139.
  • Weingart, P. (2001). Die Stunde der Wahrheit? Zum Verhältnis der Wissenschaft zu Politik, Wirtschaft und Medien in der Wissensgesellschaft. Weilerswist: Velbrück Wiss.

This research cluster therefore aims to contribute (1) to the comparative empirical analysis of evaluation procedures in science and higher education and (2) to current theoretical debates within the sociology of valuation and evaluation.

Related projects:

Publications:

* = with peer review

  • Reinhart, M. (2017).
    Policing Misconduct: More Data Needed on Scientific Misconduct. Nature, 549(7673), 458. *
  • Kleimann, B., & Klawitter, M. (2017).
    An Analytical Framework for Evaluation-based Decision-making Procedures in Universities. In Huisman, J., & Tight, M. (Hrsg.), Theory and Method in Higher Education, Bingley: Emerald Publishing, S. 39-57.
  • Schendzielorz, C., Hoffmeister, A., & Marguin, S, (2017).
    Feldnotizen 2.0. Digitalität in der ethnographischen Beobachtungspraxis. Wie Digitalität die Geisteswissenschaften verändert. Neue Forschungsgegenstände und Methoden, Zeitschrift für digitale Geisteswissenschaften (ZfdG) (Sonderband 3) [im Erscheinen]. *

Show all publications

Presentations:

* = with peer review

  • Hartstein, J., Isigkeit, T., & Sörgel, F. ( 2017, Dezember).
    Algorithmic science evaluation and power structure: the discourse on strategic citation and ‚citation cartels‘. Vortrag auf dem 34. Chaos Communication Congress (34C3), 27.-30. Dezember 2017, Messe Leipzig.
  • Niggemann, F., & Oberschelp, A. ( 2017, November).
    Verfahren der Leistungsmessung in der Lehre - Deutschland im internationalen Vergleich. Vortrag auf der Jahrestagung "Netzwerk Wissenschaftsmanagement" am Wissenschaftszentrum Bonn.
    Download
  • Heßelmann, F., & Krüger, A. ( 2017, November).
    Sichtbarkeit in Bewertungsverfahren am Beispiel des Journal Peer Review. Vortrag auf der Tagung der DGS-Sektionen Kultursoziologie und Wissenssoziologie "Kulturen der Bewertung", Köln.

Show all presentations

Start of the project: 01-Sept-2017

http://www.dzhw.eu/en/abteilungen/cluster/pr_detail
© Copyright 2018 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, fon: +49 511 450670-532, fax: +49 511 450670-960, E-Mail:

Print Logo

DZHW  >  Forschung  >  Forschungscluster

Forschung – Forschungscluster

Forschung – Forschungscluster



Seitennavigation

Bewertungspraktiken in Wissenschaft und Hochschule

Bewertungspraktiken sind in der Wissenschaft zentral, denn die kontinuierliche Prüfung wissenschaftlicher Qualität sichert ihren Anspruch auf allgemeingültige Erkenntnis. Wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisgewinn hat deshalb immer schon auf wissenschaftlicher Qualitätssicherung basiert, die jedoch nicht als externe Bewertung von außerhalb der Wissenschaft stehenden Personen, sondern innerhalb der scientific community selbst vorgenommen wird (Hirschauer 2004; Hirschauer 2005; Lamont 2009; Reinhart 2012; Pontille und Torny 2015). Zwar ist Peer Review oft kritisiert worden (Reinhart 2012: 49ff.). Dennoch hat es sich als Goldstandard zur Bewertung wissenschaftlicher Qualität durchgesetzt (Weingart 2001: 284ff.).

Aber wissenschaftliches Peer Review ist längst nicht so homogen, wie es Debatten über seine Qualität suggerieren mögen. Peer Review wird erstens in einer Reihe von unterschiedlichen Kontexten angewandt, die von der Auswahl von Artikeleinreichungen bei Zeitschriften oder der Bewilligung von Drittmittelanträgen über Berufungskommissionen an Hochschulen oder der Leistungsmessung von Hochschulen selbst auch bis zur Bewertung durch die Nutzer*innen wissenschaftsnaher Social Media-Plattformen reichen können. Zweitens kann auch innerhalb dieser Kontexte das konkrete Verfahren beispielsweise in Bezug auf die Auswahl der Gutachtenden, der eingesetzten (technologischen) Infrastruktur, der angewandten Indikatoren und Metriken oder auch in Bezug auf unterschiedliche Sichtbarkeitsregimes der Gutachtenden und Begutachteten stark variieren.

Angesichts der Vielfalt von Bewertungsverfahren in der Wissenschaft gehen wir der Fragestellung nach, wie wissenschaftliche Qualitätssicherung in unterschiedlichen Situationen und Kontexten verstanden und praktiziert wird, indem wir (1) die konkrete Ausgestaltung von Bewertungsverfahren in Wissenschaft und Hochschule, (2) die darin enthaltenen Vorstellungen von wissenschaftlicher Qualität und (3) die daraus resultierenden Konsequenzen für die wissenschaftliche Wissensproduktion in den Blick nehmen.

Hierbei greifen wir auf Ansätze der aktuellen Forschung zur Soziologie des Wertens und Bewertens (Lamont 2012) zurück. Diese ist derzeit ein „booming field“ (Meer und Lamont 2016: 8), in dessen Mittelpunkt die Frage danach steht, wie der Wert von materiellen und immateriellen Gütern, spezifischen Praktiken und alltäglichen Handlungsweisen sowie von Personen in Bezug auf ihre Leistungen oder Eigenschaften im Kontext unterschiedlicher Wertordnungen (Boltanski und Thévenot 1999) zugeschrieben oder auch im unmittelbaren Vergleich (Heintz 2017) miteinander oder mit einer als allgemein gesetzten Norm abgewogen wird (Krüger und Reinhart 2016). Die aktuelle Forschungsperspektive einer Soziologie des Wertens und Bewertens bietet damit eine Vielzahl von Anknüpfungspunkte an bereits bestehende Fragestellungen der Forschung zu Bewertungspraktiken in Wissenschaft und Hochschule wie beispielsweise an Untersuchungen zur Auswirkung von akademischen Bewertungssystemen wie Hochschulrankings (Espeland und Sauder 2007) und die dem zugrundeliegende Messung wissenschaftlicher Leistung (Rushforth und De Rijcke 2015; De Rijcke et al. 2016) oder zur Zuschreibung von Wert zu spezifischen Verfahrensweisen und Begutachtungskategorien in Peer Review-Verfahren (Lamont 2009, Reinhart 2012). Darüber hinaus bietet sie entscheidende Ansätze, die bestehende Forschung zu erweitern, indem sie explizit zentrale Praktiken, konkrete Situationen und (technologische) Infrastrukturen der Wertzuschreibung und Wertabwägung sowie dahinterstehende Wertordnungen und deren Reflexion durch die Akteure selbst in den Blick nimmt (Krüger und Reinhart 2017) und damit Perspektiven für die Untersuchung weiterer Bewertungsverfahren in Wissenschaft und Hochschule eröffnet.

Die Ziele des Forschungsclusters sind vor diesem Hintergrund, (1) einen Beitrag zur vergleichenden empirischen Beforschung von Bewertungspraktiken in Wissenschaft und Hochschule und (2) einen Beitrag zu aktuellen theoretischen Diskussionen im Rahmen der Soziologie des Wertens und Bewertens zu leisten.

Das Forschungscluster vernetzt dazu Forscher*innen aus dem eigenen Haus miteinander sowie mit externen Expert*innen im Rahmen folgender Projekte:

Literatur

  • Boltanski, L., & Thévenot, L. (1999). The Sociology of Critical Capacity. European Journal of Social Theory 2 (3), S. 359–377.
  • De Rijcke, S., Wouters, P., Rushforth, A., Franssen, T., & Hammarfelt, B. (2016). Evaluation practices and effects of indicator use - a literature review. Research Evaluation 25 (2), S. 161–169.
  • Espeland, W., & Sauder, M. (2007). Rankings and Reactivity: How Public Measures Recreate Social Worlds. American Journal of Sociology 113 (1), S. 1–40.
  • Heintz, B (2016) "Wir leben im Zeitalter der Vergleichung". Perspektiven einer Soziologie des Vergleichs Zeitschrift für Soziologie 45 (5), S. 305–323.
  • Hirschauer, S. (2004). Peer Review Verfahren auf dem Prüfstand. Zum Soziologiedefizit der Wissenschaftsevaluation Zeitschrift für Soziologie 33 (1), S. 62–83.
  • Hirschauer, S. (2005). Publizierte Fachurteile. Lektüre und Bewertungspraxis im Peer Review. Soziale Systeme 11 (1), S. 52–82.
  • Krüger, A., & Reinhart, M. (2016). Wert, Werte und (Be)Wertungen. Eine erste begriffs- und prozesstheoretische Sondierung der aktuellen Soziologie der Bewertung. Berliner Journal für Soziologie 26 (3-4), S. 485–500.
  • Krüger, A., & Reinhart, . (2017). Theories of Valuation. Building Blocks for Conceptualizing Valuation between Practice and Structure. In Krenn, K. (Hrsg.), Markets and Classifications. Special Issue. Historical Social Research 42 (1), S. 263–285.
  • Lamont, M. (2009). How professors think. Inside the curious world of academic judgment. Cambridge, Mass: Harvard University Press.
  • Lamont, M. (2012). Toward a Comparative Sociology of Valuation and Evaluation. Annual Review of Sociology 38 (1), S. 201–221.
  • Meer, N. & Lamont, M. (2016). Michèle Lamont: A Portrait of a Capacious Sociologist. Sociology 50 (5), S. 1012–1022.
  • Pontille, D., & Torny, D. (2015). From Manuscript Evaluation to Article Valuation. The Changing Technologies of Journal Peer Review. >em>Human Studies (38), S. 57–79.
  • Reinhart, M. (2012). Soziologie und Epistemologie des Peer Review. Baden-Baden: Nomos.
  • Rushforth, A., & De Rijcke, S. (2015). Accounting for Impact? The Journal Impact Factor and the Making of Biomedical Research in the Netherlands. Minerva 53 (2), S. 117–139.
  • Weingart, P. (2001). Die Stunde der Wahrheit? Zum Verhältnis der Wissenschaft zu Politik, Wirtschaft und Medien in der Wissensgesellschaft. Weilerswist: Velbrück Wiss.

Projektbeginn: 01.09.2017

http://www.dzhw.eu/abteilungen/cluster/pr_detail
© Copyright 2017 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, Tel.: 0511 450670-532, Fax: 0511 450670-960, E-Mail: