Print Logo

Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Search in: Website  Publications

DZHW  >  Research  >  Research cluster

Research – Research cluster

Research – Research cluster



Seitennavigation

The Relation between Vocational Education and Training (VET) and Higher Education (HE) in Germany

The relation between VET and HE in Germany is changing. Indicators for this change are the expansion of dual modes of study, the implementation of a coherent legal framework enabling individuals with only vocational qualifications to apply for higher education, the development of professional academies into universities, the debate on employability of HE graduates, as well as the differentiation between part-time studies parallel to work and continuing higher education. The change affects educational pathways, the institutional order of the two education sectors and the relationship between education and the labour market.

Currently, the relevance of the subject is demonstrated by increasing amounts of research on access opportunities, study progress and success of vocationally qualified persons without the traditional higher education entrance qualification from school, the ‘Abitur’. Little attention is paid to dual modes of study and continuing higher education; the prevailing research focuses on students and graduates with a so-called ‘normal biography’. There is also a dearth of studies on the changes to social orders, e.g. of hierarchy and difference in VET and HE

To address these research gaps, the cluster will further develop its research agenda in 2017. As a first step, it will focus on the organisation of workshops on two thematic complexes:

  • The first thematic area aims to analyse the change in skill formation processes from the perspective of VET and HE. The main concern is the question of how far the two types of qualification function for occupational activities and the possible impact on social orders.
  • The second thematic area aims to analyse available data in order to examine e.g. educational returns on different qualification types (VET, ‘hybrid’ and HE), to better understand the study interests of vocationally qualified persons or aspirations to gain ‘hybrid’ qualifications.

Start of the project: 01-May-2016

http://www.dzhw.eu/en/abteilungen/cluster/pr_detail
© Copyright 2018 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, fon: +49 511 450670-532, fax: +49 511 450670-960, E-Mail:

Print Logo

DZHW  >  Forschung  >  Forschungscluster

Forschung – Forschungscluster

Forschung – Forschungscluster



Seitennavigation

Verhältnis von beruflicher und hochschulischer Bildung

Das Verhältnis von beruflicher und hochschulischer Bildung in Deutschland befindet sich im Wandel. Indikatoren dafür sind der stetige Ausbau dualer Studiengänge, die erweiterten rechtlichen Regelungen des Hochschulzugangs beruflich Qualifizierter ohne Abitur, die Entwicklung von Berufsakademien zu Hochschulen, die Debatte um Employability im Hochschulbereich sowie die Ausdifferenzierung berufsbegleitender und weiterbildender Studienangebote. Der Wandel hat Implikationen für individuelle Bildungsverläufe, er berührt das institutionelle Arrangement der beiden Bildungsbereiche und das Verhältnis von Bildungs- und Beschäftigungssystem.

Im Moment spiegelt sich die hohe Relevanz des Themas vor allem in Studien zum Hochschulzugang, Studienverlauf und -erfolg beruflich Qualifizierter ohne Abitur wider. Vertiefte Untersuchungen zum dualen und weiterbildenden Studium fehlen weitgehend, die Hochschulforschung fokussiert zumeist auf Studierende und Absolvent(inn)en mit sogenannter "Normalbiographie". Auch fehlen Studien zum Wandel sozialer Ordnungen, z.B. von Hierarchie und Differenz in der beruflichen und hochschulischen Bildung.

Diesen Leerstellen widmet sich das Forschungscluster. Neben der Weiterentwicklung des Forschungsprogramms liegt der Schwerpunkt im Jahr 2017 auf der Durchführung von Workshops, in denen zwei Themenkomplexe im Mittelpunkt stehen:

  • Der erste Themenkomplex zielt darauf, den Wandel der beruflichen Qualifizierung aus der Perspektive der beruflichen und hochschulischen Bildung zu betrachten. Hierbei geht es vor allem um die Frage der Qualifizierungsfunktion beider Bereiche für beruflich organisierte Tätigkeiten und mögliche Auswirkungen auf soziale Ordnungen
  • Der zweite Themenkomplex zielt auf eine Analyse verfügbarer Datenbestände, um beispielsweise die Fragen der Bildungserträge von beruflicher, "hybrider" und hochschulischer Bildung im Vergleich zu untersuchen, um Studieninteressen beruflicher Qualifizierter ohne schulische Hochschulzugangsberechtigung oder Motivlagen zur Durchführung hybrider Qualifikationen besser untersuchen zu können.

Projektbeginn: 01.05.2016

http://www.dzhw.eu/abteilungen/cluster/pr_detail
© Copyright 2017 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, Tel.: 0511 450670-532, Fax: 0511 450670-960, E-Mail: