Print Logo

Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Sprung zur Startseite Sprung zur DZHW-Startseite
Search in: Website  Publications

Projects – Current

Projects – Current



Seitennavigation

EUROSTUDENT

Social and economic conditions of student life in Europe

The EUROSTUDENT project is an international survey project that has been collecting data on the social and economic conditions of student life in Europe since 1994. The EUROSTUDENT dataset covers all important aspects of student life: access to higher education, students’ demographic and educational background, types and modes of study, time budget and employment, students’ income and expenditure, types of housing, and international mobility.

The project is characterised by a de-centralised network structure, with involvement by European researchers and policy-makers active in the field of higher education. National surveys carried out and financed by the participating countries provide the basis for the comparative analysis of the social and economic conditions of higher education students in the European Higher Education Area. Each participant country is responsible for conducting a national study according to the central EUROSTUDENT conventions. EUROSTUDENT provides a central core questionnaire as well as several handbooks detailing standards for data collection, calculation and delivery. The national surveys - in Germany the German Social Survey (Sozialerhebung) - then deliver data to the EUROSTUDENT aggregate database.

EUROSTUDENT participant countries can use the results to reflect on the social dimension of higher education, thus (re-)evaluating the strengths and weaknesses of their own systems. EUROSTUDENT strives to inspire discussions, exchange and research on higher education policy.

The EUROSTUDENT project goals are:

  • To provide a broad, policy-relevant cross-country comparison of data on the social dimension of European higher education.
  • To assist in capacity-building in order to establish policy-relevant and robust national monitoring structures for the social dimension of higher education.
  • To support countries in their efforts to use the insights from the international comparison to review and improve the social dimension of higher education in their country.

The project is jointly conducted by an international consortium made up of seven organisations from different European countries, led by the German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW). An international Steering Board representing stakeholders, policy-makers and participant countries provides advice to the project and monitors its progress.

The project website provides up-to-date information on project activities.

Individual projects

Current projects

Completed projects

Publications:

* = with peer review

  • Hauschildt, K., Gwosć, C., Netz, N., & Mishra, S. (2015).
    Social and Economic Conditions of Student Life in Europe. Synopsis of Indicators. EUROSTUDENT V 2012–2015. Bielefeld: W. Bertelsmann Verlag.
    Order publication | Download
  • Orr, D. (2013).
    EUROSTUDENT (2012). Annual Report 2012. Hannover: HIS.
    Download
  • EACEA P9 Eurydice (Hrsg.) - HIS-Mitarbeiter(innen): Orr, D. (2012).
    The European Higher Education Area in 2012: Bologna Process Implementation Report. Brüssel, Belgien: EACEA.
    Download

Show all publications

http://www.dzhw.eu/en/abteilungen/bildung/projekte/pr_detail
© Copyright 2018 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, fon: +49 511 450670-532, fax: +49 511 450670-960, E-Mail:

Print Logo

Projekte – Aktuell

Projekte – Aktuell



Seitennavigation

EUROSTUDENT

Erfassung von sozio-ökonomischen Grunddaten der Studierenden in europäischen Ländern

Seit 1994 werden im EUROSTUDENT-Projekt Daten über die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Bedingungen von Studierenden in Europa erfasst. EUROSTUDENT ist ein internationales Befragungsprojekt, das alle wichtigen Themenbereiche im Hinblick auf die Studien- und Lebensbedingungen von Studierenden abdeckt: die Art des Hochschulzugangs, der soziale Hintergrund, demographische Merkmale der Studierenden, Charakteristika des Studiums, Zeitbudget und Erwerbstätigkeit, Einnahmen und Ausgaben, Wohnformen sowie Auslandsmobilität.

Das Projekt ist durch eine dezentrale Netzwerkstruktur gekennzeichnet, bestehend aus europäischen Forscher(inne)n und politisch-administrativen Mitarbeiter(inne)n aus dem Hochschulbereich. Die durch nationale Mittel finanzierten Erhebungen in den einzelnen Ländern liefern die Daten zur Erstellung der statistischen Profile der Länder und des vergleichenden Indikatorenberichts zur wirtschaftlichen und sozialen Lage der Studierenden im Europäischen Hochschulraum. Jedes Teilnehmerland führt in Eigenverantwortung seine Studierendenbefragung durch, wobei zentrale Konventionen eingehalten werden. Diese Konventionen manifestieren sich u.a. in einem gemeinsamen Kernfragebogen sowie in verschiedenen Handbüchern, die Standards für die Erhebung, Verarbeitung und Analyse der Daten festlegen.

Die nationalen Erhebungen – in Deutschland etwa die Sozialerhebung – bilden die Basis für die Erstellung des europäischen Aggregatdatensatzes. Die Beteiligung an EUROSTUDENT ermöglicht es den Teilnehmerländern, die jeweilige nationale Situation besser einzuordnen und die Rahmenbedingungen in ihrem Land mit Blick auf Stärken und Schwächen angemessen bewerten zu können, um daraus eventuell notwendige Reformen für das eigene Hochschulwesen abzuleiten.

Auf der Grundlage der EUROSTUDENT-Daten werden hochschulpolitische Diskussionen angeregt und es wird die Forschung in diesem Feld gefördert.

Zusammengefaßt verfolgt EUROSTUDENT die folgenden Ziele:

  • Bereitstellung einer Evidenzbasis für den breiten, politisch relevanten Ländervergleich von Daten über die soziale Dimension der europäischen Hochschulbildung
  • Aufbau von Kapazitäten, um politisch relevante und robuste nationale Monitoring-Strukturen für die soziale Dimension der Hochschulbildung in Europa zu etablieren
  • Initiierung und Unterstützung der Nutzung von Erkenntnissen aus dem internationalen Vergleich zur Evaluation und Verbesserung der sozialen Dimension der Hochschulbildung

Das Projekt wird durch ein internationales Konsortium gesteuert, das mit Vertreter(inne)n von Organisationen europäischer Länder besetzt ist und vom Deutschen Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung (DZHW) geleitet wird. Eine internationale Steuerungsgruppe mit Expert(inn)en aus Wissenschaft, Politik und Praxis fungiert als Beratungs- und Kontrollorgan. Das EUROSTUDENT-Netzwerk steht allen Ländern des Europäischen Hochschulraums offen. Über Aktivitäten im Rahmen des Projekts wird zudem regelmäßig auf der Projekt-Internetseite informiert.

Einzelprojekte

Aktuelle Projekte

Abgeschlossene Projekte

Publikationen:

* = referiert

  • Hauschildt, K., Gwosć, C., Netz, N., & Mishra, S. (2015).
    Social and Economic Conditions of Student Life in Europe. Synopsis of Indicators. EUROSTUDENT V 2012–2015. Bielefeld: W. Bertelsmann Verlag.
    Veröffentlichung bestellen | Download
  • Orr, D. (2013).
    EUROSTUDENT (2012). Annual Report 2012. Hannover: HIS.
    Download
  • EACEA P9 Eurydice (Hrsg.) - HIS-Mitarbeiter(innen): Orr, D. (2012).
    The European Higher Education Area in 2012: Bologna Process Implementation Report. Brüssel, Belgien: EACEA.
    Download

Alle Publikationen anzeigen

http://www.dzhw.eu/abteilungen/bildung/projekte/pr_detail
© Copyright 2017 by DZHW Deutsches Zentrum für Hochschul- und Wissenschaftsforschung GmbH, Lange Laube 12, 30159 Hannover, Tel.: 0511 450670-532, Fax: 0511 450670-960, E-Mail: